49-Cent Friday Refashion: Felted Wool Christmas Stocking

I’m very excited to show you today’s refashion.

After completing last week’s winter infinity scarf, I couldn’t wait to show you all the other ideas I had for those cast-off sweaters from my huge wool stash.

If you’ve never refashioned wool, I’d highly recommend it. It’s so much fun!

Felted wool is wool fabric which has been washed and dried with a lot of heat. That process shrinks the fabric to make it thick and soft. It’s a really cool transformation. Once wool fibers are felted, they are woven so tightly together, it really makes for a durable material.

While searching through my sweater stash I saw this festive find…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Love the closures.

 

This sweater just screamed Christmas, what with the snowflakes and reindeer and all. I knew it would make a perfect Christmas stocking.

I wanted to use a pattern I found in this awesome book:

Felt It! Stitch It! Fabulous! Creative Wearables From Flea Market Finds | Katheryn Tidwell Bieber

The Christmas stocking pattern from this book is really cute, but just a bit narrower than I’d like, so I used the pattern as a guide, and tweaked it just a bit.

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

A wider Christmas stocking to hold more goodies!!! :)

These are the stocking examples that were shown in the book…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Aren’t they just so ADORABLE?

After cutting out several different pattern pieces, I originally designed this for my stocking…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Not too shabby.

…but then I came across this collar that came off of a previous refashion…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

I love that blanket stitch.

So I decided to go a different route.

I pinned the front and back stocking pieces (wrong sides together) and stitched them in place.

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Sew it all together.

After sewing the stocking pieces together with my machine, I added the collar to the stocking and blanket stitched around it.

(Note: If you want to learn how to do a blanket stitch, check out this tutorial by futuregirl.)

Then I added the toe and heel pieces and blanket stitched them to the stocking as well.

I wanted to add an argyle effect, so to finish it off, I layered these diamond pieces onto the front of the stocking and using a blanket stitch (of course), attached them too.

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Neato.

Now after all of this was said and done, I realized it would’ve been easier if I had attached the heel, toe and diamond shapes to the front of the stocking BEFORE stitching the front and back stocking pieces together with my machine. DUH. Oh well, the next one will be easier.
Oh yeah, and check out this other mistake…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

The backside of the stocking was cut out upside down. (Notice the upside down reindeer?) OOPS!!!

Well, it’s definitely unique!

Anyway, to finish the stocking, I blanket stitched all the way around the stocking and voilá…

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

All done!

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

I had so much fun making this, I just can’t wait to make a bunch more!

I’ve shared this on my Pinterest and Diary of a MadMama Facebook page, but I just couldn’t resist sharing it here too:

Black Friday:

My sentiments exactly! ;)

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

~Jen

Christmas Stocking Refashioned From A Wool Sweater | Diary of a MadMama

18 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Felted Wool Christmas Stocking

  1. Love the re-purposed sweater. Much better as a stocking and nicely implemented, too. I think the second version is stunning. More elegant with that lovely red collar. You’ve taken a cute idea and made it your own.

    I *love* the Black Friday quote. Sad but true.

    • Thank you so much for your sweet comments!
      I had a lot of fun making it!
      I used to go Black Friday shopping just for the tradition of it, but eventually thought, “Why am I doing this? I can never find deals that are so good it justifies getting absolutely no sleep after a day of slaving away in the kitchen.” and I have a lot of Black Friday horror stories from past shopping experiences that make me want to just stay home and relax. Any Christmas gifts I need to buy (that I can’t make myself), I prefer to either buy online or purchase from independent shops or markets if I can. It’s more fun that way and it’s better to support small businesses. :)
      Have a great Thanksgiving! :)

      • I’m with you. I actually worked retail jobs all through college. We were required to work Black Friday and let me tell you, the number of rude, pushy and disagreeable shoppers was enough to cure me of shopping forever.

        Like you, I like to make a little, shop online a little, and over all, try to keep it to a minimum.

        Last year I flat out asked my boys, then 12 and 15, what would make a nice Christmas. They each asked for two or three things and that was it. I stuff their stockings with edible goodies and a few unique gifts. I wish we could roll back Christmas to the days of Anne of Green Gables: one nice, practical gift and a wonderful meal with family and friends. It’s crazy how consumerism rules us.

        How many stockings will you make?

      • Ugh, I would hate to have to work retail during the holidays! It’s bad enough to shop with all the crowds. I feel bad for people who have to deal with that 8+ hours a day. :(

        I love Anne of Green Gables! (One of my favorite movies!)

        I’m not sure how many stockings I’ll make, but I definitely want to make a lot more! I’m trying to make some stuff to put in my etsy shop, but it’s slow going right now with everything else we have going on. :)

      • Well, don’t add to your stress. Life can keep us all fairly busy, and you’ve had your fair share of late.

        I read all twenty plus Anne of Green Gables books, though the original is still my favorite. Such a simpler time.

        I hope your week is off to a good start.

  2. Pingback: Green Friday: Repurposing in and out of the Garden | gardeningnirvana

Leave a Reply

