49-Cent Friday Refashion: Warm Woolen Mittens

These are a few of my favorite things

I’ve had this song in my head all week in anticipation of this week’s blog post.

I purchased a 49-cent, wool sweater from Mel Trotter (my favorite local thrift store) a few weeks ago.

It was so warm and comfy, and it fit me perfectly! That is until my 14-year old son thought he’d be helpful and launder it for me.

Yep, that’s right, he ignored the DRY CLEAN ONLY tag.

When it came out of the dryer it no longer fit me, but it fit my daughter perfectly, so she claimed it for herself.

She wore it once and loved how comfy and warm it was.

Guess what happened next? My 14-year old son once again helped with the laundry, and once again ignored the DRY CLEAN ONLY tag.

This time the sweater wasn’t fitting anybody as-is! :/

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

I don’t think it’s possible for this thing to shrink any further!

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Finely felted!

It’s hard to get too mad, when I only paid 49-cents for the thing.

Since this sweater is 100% wool, it felted into a really nice, tight weave. It’s now practically waterproof, making it perfect to refashion into a pair of warm mittens!

First I disassembled the sweater like so…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

I made sure to cut off the waistband, and remove the cuffs from the sleeves and set them aside, because I use them for the cuffs on the mittens (and also the bands on the ski caps I’ve made).

After going through my sweater stash and deciding which sweaters and sweater pieces to use for my mittens, I grabbed my pattern pieces and got busy cutting.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Mittens in the making.

Once I had enough pieces cut, I started designing how each pair would look.
I decided to make some of the pairs to match and some to coordinate.
When I had decided on how they were going to be, I pinned the pieces…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Right sides together.

…then sewed.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

Once each pair was sewn, I turned them all right-side-out and matched them up with their mates.

Then I made sure my iron was nice and steamy, and started pressing my mittens.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Steam those mittens!

The steamy iron helps the felt to stretch back out into a nice mittenly shape.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

See the difference between the ironed mitten and non-ironed one?

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Big difference.

Once the mittens were in their proper shape, I inserted a fleece liner (made with store-bought fleece and using the same mitten pattern).

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Fleece liner

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Ahhh, warm and cozy!

When I got to my last pair of mittens, I inserted the right-handed liner into the right mitten and while trying to insert the left-handed liner into the left mitten, I realized I had made a mistake…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Mitten mistake! Instead of two left feet, two right hands! Oopsie!

Oops! Well, I guess I’ll just have to cut out two more left-handed mittens. :/

After lining all the mittens, I picked out the cuffs…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

To attach the cuff, I placed it on my left hand like so…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

…and inserted it into the mitten.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Then, starting between the cuff and the liner, I inserted the needle like so…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

I stitched all the way around the mitten, going back and forth through all three layers; mitten, liner and cuff.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

I spaced the stitches out 1/2″ apart…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Once I got back to the beginning stitch, I put the needle down through all three layers and then back up only through the cuff, meeting up with the knotted tail of thread I began with.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Then I tied off the yarn…

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

…and stitched the cuff in place on the backside of the mitten.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Like so.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Then I added buttons to the front of all the mittens.

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Man mittens

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Women mittens

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

Felted Wool Mittens, Refashioned From Sweaters | Diary of a MadMama

All done!

Between the fleece lining, and the felted wool, these are the warmest mittens ever! Definitely one of my favorite things! ;)

Can you believe Christmas is only five days away!?!?? EEK!

I hope you all have a fantastic holiday season!

~Jen

27 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Warm Woolen Mittens

  1. What a fun model you have, he made me laugh hard!!!
    By the way, your refashioned mittens looks great and really warm, I love them – pinned!
    Merry Xmas,
    MammaNene @ SergerPepper.com

    • Merry Christmas and Happy New Year (late) to you too! I hope you had a terrific holiday!
      Thanks for your nice comment!
      If you make some, I’d love to see how they look when you’re finished! :)

    • Thanks Vi!
      I think because I got it so cheap, I wasn’t as devastated as if I had payed full price for it. I almost expect accidents to happen when I have my kids help with the laundry. It’s the price I pay for not having to do all the chores myself!

  2. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  3. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: American Girl Doll Dress Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday Refashion: Fingerless Gloves Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

