No Sew Refashion – Nifty Knee Patches

Hey hey ya’all, I’m back!  Did ya’ miss me?  😉

I was doing some laundry today and noticed these…

Egads!

Egads!

Here’s a closer view:

DSCN2198

A hole! EEK!

DSCN2199

And another hole!

Well what to do? I don’t want to throw out two otherwise perfectly good pair of jeans!

And then it hit me…can you say Pinterest? I remembered seeing a pin for cute monster patches made from felt. I figured, “hey I can do that!”

So I got busy and grabbed my stash of felt…

DSCN2203

I love working with felt!

And the cool thing with this project is that it doesn’t take a lot of felt. I mean, this is all I needed (and I didn’t even use it all).

DSCN2204

Felt scraps

About the time I was ready to get moving with my little project, along came Sis’ with a pair of her own holey jeans.

DSCN2207

uh-oh

DSCN2208

her jeans had much bigger holes than little buddy’s… hmm

While she was thinking about what kind of patches she wanted on her jeans, I got busy cutting out the shapes I needed…

DSCN2209

eyes

DSCN2210

eyes with pupils and scary eyebrows

DSCN2212

all the pieces I need

Now Sis’ decided that she wanted to do a couple of big butterfly patches for her jeans. So I helped her cut out the main background and she took over from there.

DSCN2211

gettin’ busy with the glue

DSCN2214

And doing a great job!

While she was busy with that, I cut out a couple of scraps to line the holes, so that when we glued the butterfly shape on them, it wouldn’t glue through to the back pant leg, gluing the pant leg together.

DSCN2215

brown scrap of felt to line the hole.

Now we’re ready to glue on the butterfly shape.

DSCN2216

Butterfly!

DSCN2217

She’s so crafty!

DSCN2219

making sure to get the edges glued down!

Oh by the way, in case you are wondering what kind of glue we’re using… here’s a close up…

DSCN2220 DSCN2222
E6000. It’s supposed to be an all purpose kind of glue. I found out about it while reading a craft book at the library. I can’t remember the book (sorry), but I did remember the glue the author recommended. 🙂 According to him, it’s the only glue you’ll ever need for any project. So I decided to try it out for myself and see.  The only negative comment I have for it so far, is that it stinks really bad!  I like that it specifically says for fabric, and that it’s washer/dryer safe.  I’ll let you know if that holds up to be true or not!

Ok, back to the project.

So while Sis’ is busy gluing her butterfly,

DSCN2224

gluing away

I got busy lining the holes on buddy’s jeans…

DSCN2223

inside out view

Since his holes were so small, you couldn’t see the red (mouth) lining very easily, so I decided to snip a few threads.

DSCN2227

cutting threads

DSCN2228

much more mouth like

Now it’s time to start gluing on the rest of the shapes.

teeth

teeth

more teeth

more teeth

Eek!  Scary monsters!

Eek! Scary monsters!

I want a pair of these for myself! ;)

I want a pair of these for myself! 😉

Buddy approves!

Happy boy!

Happy boy!

He decided he wanted in on the fun, so he got busy cutting…

cutting

cutting

gluing

gluing

He was also helping Sis’ on her project. Such a nice boy.
By the way, you’re probably wondering how she’s coming along.
Well let’s find out…

Wow! Coming along nicely! Almost done!

Wow! Coming along nicely! Almost done!

And done! :)

And done! 🙂

This was such a fun,inexpensive and easy project, and the best part was being able to do it with the kids. They seemed to have a lot of fun too. I just hope they didn’t enjoy it so much that they start purposely cutting holes in all their jeans! Ha!

Here are a few more pictures of the finished products…

Left leg

Left leg

Right leg

Right leg

Close up #1

Close up #1

Close up #2

Close up #2

Well thanks for hanging out with me today. If you decided to try these out, let me know how it went.  I’d love to see or hear about it!

Question: What’s a project you’ve done with your kids lately?

Take care!

~Jen 🙂

This post is linked up to…

We Made That

A Mother Life
10 thoughts on “No Sew Refashion – Nifty Knee Patches

    • Thanks Madeline!
      The butterfly patches held up great! The monster ones held up after the first wash, but the eyeballs started coming loose after a while. I’m not sure if it was the glue’s fault or if my son was picking at them. Stitching them down here and there would take care of that problem. 😉
      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

