49 Cent Friday: No-Sew Skirt to Shirt Refashion

Welcome to the first post in my new weekly series, 49 Cent Friday Refashions, where I take 49-cent thrift store finds and refashion them into something new and wearable.

Today, I thought I’d ย start out with a simple, no-sew refashion, as I wasn’t feeling very well.

I started out with this skirt that I scored for a mere .49, (hence the title of this post) from my favorite local thrift store Mel Trotter

Silk Skirt

Silky

The thing with this skirt is, I actually liked it as a skirt, but I don’t wear skirts all that often. So I thought I’d better do a refashion that would still allow me to wear it as a skirt, if the mood ever hit me.

All I did, was put the skirt on as a strapless top…

Silky Top

Pretty easy huh?

I topped it with a cute little matching brown jacket (because I’m not used to wearing strapless tops by themselves, and it’s chilly here in February!)

Silky top

Cute eh?

Did you notice the green band on my arm in either of the top two “after” pics?
Well here’s the cause…

Big needle

OUCH! Would you look at the size of that needle?

Have I ever mentioned that I donate plasma twice a week?
There is a Biolife plasma donation center near where I live.

Plasma is processed into life-saving plasma-based therapies. My plasma getsย manufactured into products that save and sustain the lives of people with hemophilia, immune disorders, infectious diseases, kidney disease, trauma, and other chronic and acute medical conditions.

I would like to thank Deanna from Wedding Dress Blue, for giving me the great idea of starting this new weekly segment!

Her blog is awesome! You should go check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great weekend everyone!

~Jen

This post is linked up to…

13 thoughts on “49 Cent Friday: No-Sew Skirt to Shirt Refashion

    • Wow thank you! I have many more to come! You should see the huge pile of clothes needing to be refashioned cluttering up my craft room! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks so much for checking out my blog and for the sweet comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Wow, you donate plasma twice a week? As someone with a mom with kidney disease, I know that donations like that would be very welcome in this world.

    Do you do/eat anything other than rehydrate to make sure your body quickly produces replacement?

    • I’m sorry about your mom.
      When I go in to donate plasma, the first thing they do is check to make sure my protein and iron levels are good enough for me to donate. So I try to make sure to eat healthy meals (usually a big bowl of chili) the night before that are rich in iron and protein. Also, I’m not supposed to drink alcohol, tea or coffee the night before or day of donating (as it dehydrates). And I drink a TON of water the entire day of the donation. That helps keep me hydrated and also makes my donation go a lot quicker. (it also helps swell up my vein so that it’s easy for the phlebotomist to find!)
      Thanks for checking out the blog and for your nice comment! ๐Ÿ™‚
      ~Jen

  2. I clicked through from your link up at Sewing Barefoot, and I love this idea for a weekly series! I will definitely be looking through your blog, because I’m a big fan of refashions!

    Also, bravo for donating! I used to donate blood as often as possible, since I have the universal donor blood type, but have gotten out of the habit recently for various reasons. You’ve inspired me to make an appointment!

  3. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: No Sew Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

