49-Cent Friday: Ugly Coat Refashion: Part Two

Is it really Friday again?

Wow, this week went by fast.

For today’s 49-Cent Friday Refashion, I decided to finish my ugly coat (at least it used to be).

Need a reminder? Take another look at the before pic.

What should this ugly green coat be refashioned into?

Kinda ugly

Where did we last leave off?

Oh yes, I had finished sewing the bottom ruffle along the waist.

The next step was to lengthen the sleeves (because my arms are quite long and my coat sleeves never seem long enough)!

To accomplish this, I used a scrap of the material that was cut off the coat and made 2 skinny strips out of it. I’ll be using these to make cute ruffles on my sleeves.

diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com

2 long strips

The first thing I did to the strips was fold over one side and pin…

www.diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com

See?

Then sew.

www.diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com

Whirrrr

Now to make these strips into ruffles, I used the same technique (via Bandy Canyon) that I used to make the ruffle on the waist of the coat (see Ugly Coat Refashion: Part One).

You can see in the following pictures how you fold the strip back and forth around the sleeve (right sides together).

Sewing a Ruffle . Diary of a MadMama

Like this.

www.diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com

After pinning it just right, sew it all around!

Once my sleeves were all finished, I got busy making a ruffle for the front of the coat.
I started by using one of the strips I had cut off from the bottom of the coat, folded it over (wrong sides together) and ran it through my sewing machine.

Sewing a strip of material . Diary of a MadMama

See what I mean?

After it was sewn together, it looked like this…

Fabric strip . Diary of a MadMama

All coiled up and ready to attack…like a snake! πŸ˜‰

I wanted to use that strip of material to make a pleated ruffle to add onto the button placket part of the front of the coat.
I used my long strip of fabric and pleated and pinned it along the front flap of the coat like so…

Pleated ruffle . Diary of a MadMama

Such pretty pleats.

Here comes the painful part.

Because the strip of fabric was so thick, and folding it back and forth on top of itself just made it that much thicker, I could barely pin it to the coat and keep the pins from falling out.

There was no way this would even fit under my sewing machine, so I had to hand sew the whole thing, which left my fingers sore and calloused by the time I was finished (not to mention that I kept mistaking my fingertips for a pin cushion).

I made sure to use this heavy-duty upholstery thread…

upholstery thread . Diary of a MadMama

Heavy Duty!

To sew the ruffle on, I used a whip stitch and sewed it to the inside of the button flap.

Then I went over it again from the front using a hidden stitch (so it wouldn’t be seen).

Here’s the finished look…

pleated coat front . Diary of a MadMama

Front view

pleated button placket . Diary of a MadMama

View from the back.

I didn’t want to wear this coat without a liner in it (that wouldn’t be very comfortable), so I hand stitched the liner back in (after shortening it to match the new length of the coat).

I also decided to hand stitch it, so that the stitches wouldn’t show from the front of the coat.

reattaching the liner . Diary of a MadMama

Smooth and silky

The coat was looking pretty snazzy at this point, but there was just one more thing I wanted to add to finish the look.

I had another strip of material that I ironed nice and flat (making sure to use lots of steam).

Fabric strip . Diary of a MadMama

Nice flat strip

After hemming the sides under, I folded the strip in half (right sides together) and sewed.

Like this.

After turning it right side out, it looked like this.

DSCN2529

See?

Using the same buttons that I used on the front of the coat, I attached this flap thingy (what the heck are these things called anyway?) like so…

DSCN2531

Cute back huh?!

And that’s it! All done!

100_0916

What do ya’ think?

Now I’ll have something green to wear for St. Patrick’s Day!

I want to say thank you to all of you who offered your thoughts and advice about this refashion. The truth is that I couldn’t have made it without your help, and if anything I believe that this was a group project.

You guys rock!

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

Ugly Coat Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This post was featured on…

CraftyStaci

and linked up to…

Recycled Fashion

48 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Ugly Coat Refashion: Part Two

    • Wow! Thanks for the sweet compliment! I’m just learning as I go! πŸ˜‰
      I’m going to try out your face cleanser recipe as soon as I can make it to the store (I’m out of 2 of the ingredients). But I’m really excited to try it out! So thanks for posting! πŸ™‚ And thanks again for your sweet comments! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

  1. Pingback: Ugly Coat Refashion: Part One | Diary of a MadMama

  2. Wow that looks really cool, though I certainly feel for your fingers throughout the whole handsewing super thick fabric process. What are you going to do with those old purple buttons? They looked kinda cute as long as they were no longer on the coat!

    • Thanks!
      The buttons are actually more of a brownish-rust color. (I’d like purple better). I’ll definitely be saving them in my button stash, though I don’t have a plan for them at the moment! πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

    • Thank you so much Staci! I’m really proud of it! I have another wool coat that I also scored for 49-cents from the same thrift store. It’s a pink Old Navy coat that I really like (other than some pillage), but it’s not super flattering because it’s a wee bit big. I thought now that I’ve tried my hand at refashioning a wool coat, it might be fun to experiment with the pink one some time in the future!
      Take care!

  3. Very cute!
    I just happened on your blog and I get a chuckle out of your name! I just started blogging myself and it’s currently just about my weight loss plans, but I share a lot of the same interests that you have. So, from this Momma, keep up the good work Mama!

    • Thanks Momma! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you stopped by!
      I’ll definitely be checking out your blog. I’m pretty new to the blogging world as well. I started in January. This was my New Year’s Resolution! Good luck with your weight loss goals. I find that blogging helps when you have a goal, because when you share it with others, it motivates you to stick with it! My husband recently lost 60 pounds, so I’m excited to read about your healthy endeavors! πŸ™‚
      Take care!
      ~Jen

  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites–Refashioned Clothing | Crafty Staci

    • Thanks Sharon! The ruffles and back are my favorite part too! πŸ™‚ I have a pink coat that I’m thinking about refashioning, but I’ll probably wait till next fall, since I’m guessing I won’t be getting much wear out of it for a while! πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Men’s Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  6. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Two – Emerald! | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

