49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion

With St. Patrick’s Day quickly approaching, I thought this green striped top would make a great refashion…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Does this look familiar?

This is an Old Navy maternity shirt I scored for 49-cents!

Actually, when I bought it I didn’t notice that it was a maternity shirt.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oops! I guess I should’ve paid closer attention.

I liked the colors and the stripes, and I actually bought it to wear as a shirt.

The problem is, I’m not pregnant…so I don’t need a maternity shirt!

Note: If this top looks familiar to any of you, it’s probably because it was used in yesterday’s pajama pants refashion (well part of it was anyway). I cut off the cuffs for that refashion, and now I’m left with this for today’s refashion…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Maternity top (sans cuffs)

I thought it would look pretty swell as a skirt.

Here’s my favorite part of the top…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Buttons!

The first thing I did was cut off the sleeves.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

Then I separated the front of the shirt from the back, by cutting up the side seams and shoulder seams.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See?

I trimmed off the top parts, right at the armpits…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cut along the lines!

After the shirt was disassembled, I sewed the two striped panels, right sides together.

I wanted to make sure the skirt would be long enough, so I grabbed the top pieces that had been cut off the shirt and trimmed them to make a new waistband.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

The rotary cutter is your friend!

After the trimming was done I ended up with these…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Strips for the waistband.

I sewed the ends (right sides together)…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Like so.

Then stretched it around the skirt, right sides together, and pinned in place.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinning in place.

After sewing the waistband on, I tried on my new skirt, and realized it wasn’t working.

What was supposed to be my new waist band, didn’t quite fit like I was expecting. That really bummed me out (I was so irritated I didn’t take pics…sorry).

So rather than give up…

I decided to refashion my refashion.

I put the skirt on my dress form upside down (as a shirt), and pinned it where I would be taking it in.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Let’s fix that mistake shall we?

So now my skirt once again will be a shirt. Go figure.

I carefully removed the top from the dress form (being careful not to mess up the pinned part). Then sewed along the pins and trimmed off the excess…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Snip snip

I found a matching green ribbon in contrasting polka dots that was already the perfect length. I safety pinned it to the front of the top and tied it around the neck of my dress form.

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

What do you think?

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I had to do my own photography. 😦

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I was too lazy to try the top on by itself. (In case you were wondering about the brown shirt underneath.)

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whazzup?

Ok, I know I was being a goofball during my photo shoot, (it was late, I was tired, and I act goofy when I’m tired) and while goofing around I thought:

“Hey maybe it would work out as a skirt after all, just upside down.”

So I tried the skirt (shirt?) on, with the waistband part now working as the bottom panel thingie.

(Oh and I unpinned the ribbon first, because I wouldn’t be needing that if I wear it as a skirt)

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I normally don’t wear pants under my skirts, but again, it was late, I was tired…

49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Look, my photographer returned.

It actually fit better as a skirt when worn upside down. Whaddya know?

In case you were wondering, I was planning on refashioning the sleeves into something cool too, but after my earlier malfunction, it was late and I decided to figure out something cool to do with them later. I promise I’ll let you know when I do! 🙂

So for 49-cents, I was able to turn a wonky fitting maternity shirt, into a skirt and/or summer halter top.

Which one do you like better?

Happy Friday!
~Jen

This post is linked up to…

Recycled Fashion

16 thoughts on “49 Cent Friday: Maternity Shirt Refashion

    • Ha! Thank ya’ dear. 🙂 I was wanting to find a cream colored top to wear it with, but no such luck. I have a ton of laundry to put away, maybe I’ll find something in the laundry that will work with it.
      I hope you’re able to get some sleep, fellow night owl! 🙂

  1. A maternity top turned upside down and made into a top is a great idea as the fullness built in for the tummy is perfect for the fullness of the bust. Good idea!
    I think a crisp, short sleeved white blouse would look so cute under the “top.” and a funnel neck short sleeve or sleeveless top would look so smart with the skirt, so I can’t pick a favorite:)

    • Thanks! (Goofy is my middle name.) 😉 I thought I could wear the skirt throughout the spring (when it’s chilly) with some leggings or cable knit tights, and then wear it as a top come summer!

Leave a Reply

