Necktie Refashion: DIY Tie Necklace & Flower Pin

Do any of you refashionistas out there ever wonder what to do with the leftovers from your refashions?

Do they end up cluttering your craft room and driving you crazy?

Well I know that’s true for me, but today I decided to do something about it!

For my daughter’s last birthday I made her this adorable necktie skirt out of a bunch of my husband’s ties that he no longer wore, plus some that I thrifted…

Necktie Skirt | Diary of a MadMama

Necktie Skirt

I loved the way she looked in it so much, that I decided to make her a tie skirt for Christmas (using Christmas ties)…

Christmas tie skirt | Diary of a MadMama

Christmas tie skirt

I didn’t follow a tutorial for the skirts, I just measured my daughters waist and sewed the amount of ties needed for it to fit. Then I added elastic to the waistband.

If you would like to make this skirt, I’ve found a tutorial you can use from Rick Rack Ruby. Her tutorial is a bit more detailed, as it involves a zipper and uses another tie for the waistband. I honestly wish I would’ve used Ruby’s tutorial, because I love the cute windsor knot  in the front of the waistband.

Since we did “homemade Christmas” last year, I decided to use up the leftover ties, (that I didn’t use for the skirts) by making pouches for some of the guys on my list…

Necktie pouch | Diary of a MadMama

Like this

I found the tutorial on how to make the pouches via Olive and Love.

The pouch works great as an eyeglass case, a way to store your iPod or camera, or pretty much anything else that will fit in them.

After making the skirts and all of the pouches, I was left with all of these leftover tie scraps that have been cluttering up my craft room since December!

Leftover neckties | Diary of a MadMama

Yikes! Whatever will I do with all of these?

These are all the skinny halves of the leftover ties. Most of the cute necktie projects that I keep finding on Pinterest call for the wider half of neckties.

Then I remembered making these cute flower pins with my cousin a while ago…

Necktie flower pins | Diary of a MadMama

Aren’t they cute?

I decided to use up some of my ties by making some more of these cute pins.
The first thing I did was heat up my glue gun and starting with the raw edge, I dabbed on a bit of glue and started rolling…

Making a necktie flower | Diary of a MadMama

A little dab’ll do ya’

After rolling a few times, (and dabbing more glue here and there to hold it all together) it looked like this…

Making a necktie flower pin | Diary of a MadMama

See?

After it was rolled up a bit, I started twisting the rest of the tie, and wrapping it around the rolled part (while dabbing on more glue here and there to keep it all together).

Making a flower pin from a necktie | Diary of a MadMama

Like so.

Once it was all wound up and glued together it looked like this…

Necktie to flower pin tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Like a flower!

To finish it off, I just found a small scrap of felt, cut it in a circle, and glued it to the back of the flower.

Making a flower pin from a necktie | Diary of a MadMama

Sunny yellow felt

Then glued a pin back onto the felt circle.

Flower pin made from a necktie | Diary of a MadMama

It can also be stitched on.

See how it looks…

Flower pin made from a necktie | Diary of a MadMama

Snazzy!

After making several of these pins, I remembered another cute project I saw on Pinterest that used a whole necktie to make an adorable collar (or necklace if you’d rather). The blog this pin originated from is Crazy Wonderful.

The problem is I only had partial ties, and the skinny halves at that.

I decided to go ahead and make a collar anyway, using one of the partial ties I had. I knew it would end up skinnier than this cute one that was the inspiration for mine…

http://westermanfam.blogspot.com/2011/07/upcycled-tie-necklace-tutorial.html

Isn’t it adorable?

I started by picking out my tie…

Making a necktie collar necklace | Diary of a MadMama

feminine flowers

First I put it around my neck and pinned the ends together. Then I folded a few pleated ruffles, pinning in place as I went.
Once it was pinned the way I wanted it, I tacked down all of the pleats in the back by hand.

Making a necktie collar necklace | Diary of a MadMama

All tacked down.

To complete the collar, I needed to find a matching button.

Check out my button stash…

buttons | Diary of a MadMama

Buttons!

I ended up choosing one of the buttons that had previously been removed from my Ugly Coat Refashion.

After stitching on the button, this is what it looked like.

Necktie Collar Necklace | Diary of a MadMama

What do you think?

Here’s a closeup…

Necktie collar necklace | Diary of a MadMama

Fancy shmancy

Although it’s not as wide as the collar that inspired this refashion, I kinda like the slimness of it!
And I love how quick and easy both of these tie projects were!
It’s always nice to find creative ways to use up scraps!

Question: Do you have any creative ways to use up your fabric scraps?
I’d love to hear about them!

If you’d like to see more creative uses of neckties, check out my re-fashion 😉 board on Pinterest! There are a lot of cool necktie projects (along with a bunch of other cool refashion ideas) on there!

Also, feel free to connect with me on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page!

~Jen

 

Necktie Refashions | Diary of a MadMama

 

This post is linked up to…

Wunderbar

31 thoughts on “Necktie Refashion: DIY Tie Necklace & Flower Pin

  1. SO cute! I love them all! I always wanted to make a messenger bag with my dad’s old ties. They garage-saled them before I got the chance. I think the skirt is fantastic, the pin looks great, and your version of the collar/necklace is adorable!

    I didn’t use scraps, but back in college I used small pieces of fabric (could be scraps) for wine bottle outfits. I think it’s a project you’d have to see – you inspired me to put together a tutorial!

  2. So love those skirts you created! And, the flowers are really pretty! I actually have that collar tie “pinned” on my pinterest board, thought it was so lovely. Will have to make it soon. Also wanted to let you know that I am having a giveaway to celebrate Spring (or Autumn, depending on where you live) on my blog. Feel free to drop by and check it out if you are interested.

  3. Pingback: 49 Cent Friday: Sweater Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

    • Thanks! I need to get some more ties, because I keep finding even more tie-related projects (mostly on Pinterest). If you end up making any I’d love to see the finished projects! 😉
      ~Jen

    • Only 1/3 of them. I thought it would be easier to find them if they were color coordinated, but they wouldn’t all fit in the container, so the rest of them are just dumped in a bag and the cookie tin. Eventually I would like to organize the rest by color too. 🙂

  4. Very clever. I’ve wanted to try that tie collar/necklace – I too have it ‘Pinned’!
    I have successfully used tie leftovers as bias binding – because ties are (usually) cut on the bias, the skinny ends actually work really well as binding. I did unpick them to do that though. 🙂

  5. Cool! I love necktie refashions. That skirt for your daughter is especially neat. I once saw a women’s skirt (long, more form-fitting) made entirely of neckties and I’ve always wanted to try it. I think your shirt turned out nice!

    • Thank you! I saw a form fitting ball gown style dress made entirely from neckties on Etsy, that I thought was so cool, but I knew I’d never have the opportunity to wear it anywhere! 🙂

  6. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Facebook Challenge – Upcycled Lampshade! | Diary of a MadMama

  7. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  8. Pingback: Necktie T-Shirt Re-Fashion | The Domestication of the Running Rose

  9. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Eighteen | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

