49 Cent Friday: Sweater Refashion

I was excited to find this warm sweater for my daughter back in the fall for 49-cents…

Sweater refashion | Diary of a MadMama

meh

The problem was, she never wore it.

Today, while sorting through my pile of clothes to refashion, I found it, mysteriously mixed in.

When I asked my daughter about it she made it clear that she didn’t really like it. The sleeves are too long, the neck opening is too big (yadda yadda).

Rather than let a perfectly fine sweater go to waste, I decided to use it for today’s 49-cent Friday refashion!

Here in Michigan, March came in like a lamb and is going out like a lion. We’ve had a lot of cold snowy days as of late. And all of the nice hats that I made my girl last year, (with her growing like a weed and all) are suddenly a bit snug. So I thought, “What better way to use the sweater in question than to make a warm headband and pair of fingerless gloves?”

I started out by chopping off the bottom of the sweater (about 3 inches above the waistband).

Refashioning a sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

I made sure to measure my daughter’s head so that I would know how long the band needed to be, then I cut the strip of waistband down to size.

Next I folded the band over (wrong sides together)…

Refashioning a sweater | Diary of a MadMama

like so

Then it got folded over again lengthwise…

Refashioning a sweater | Diary of a MadMama

see?

Now just a quick zip through the sewing machine…

Refashioning a sweater | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

If I just wanted a plain headband, it would be done, but I thought I’d jazz it up a little bit, using the rest of the waistband strip that was trimmed off earlier.

(Forgive me, in all of my excitement, I forgot to snap pictures of the next part.)

I grabbed my glue gun and heated that puppy up, then took the waistband scrap and started folding and rolling and gluing and twisting, and came up with a cute flower. (Just like the one I made in the Necktie Refashion Post.)

After gluing the flower onto the headband this is what it looked like…

DIY Headband (refashioned from a sweater) | Diary of a MadMama

warm and snuggly

I decided to make her a pair of fingerless gloves to go with the headband, so I chopped off the sleeves and turned them inside out. Then slid them onto my daughter’s arms and tacked the cuff together between her thumb and forefinger…

Making fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

pretty easy!

I did this to the other sleeve as well and then finished them off by sewing a blanket stitch around the raw edges with some green yarn…

Making fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

One of my favorite stitches.

(There’s a handy tutorial on how to do a blanket stitch via Holiday Crafts and Creations in case you were wondering how to do it.)

Here’s a closer look…

Making fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Blanket stitch

And that’s all there was to it!

Fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

I want a pair!

She seemed pretty happy with how they turned out!

Sweater Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Happy Girl!

She kept posing for pictures in them…

Fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Sassy pants!

Fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

Just doing a bit of reading…

Fingerless gloves out of a refashioned sweater | Diary of a MadMama

🙂

So there you have it! for 49-cents, my kid will stay warm in her new cold-weather accessories!
Are you jealous? Don’t be! These were so quick and easy you could easily make your own! 😉

As a bonus, I still have the majority of the sweater left for a future refashion I have in mind, so stay tuned for that!

~Jen

P.S. for any of you Google + users out there, I started a Refashion community and there’s only a few members so far. We’re pretty lonely, so if you’d like to check it out and join in the fun of sharing your awesome refashions with us, that’d be awesome!

I’d also like to connect with you on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook page!

Ta-ta!

This post is linked up to…

Wunderbar

35 thoughts on “49 Cent Friday: Sweater Refashion

    • I’m wondering if she has any acting in her future. You should’ve seen some of the other expressions from the pictures I didn’t use. She definitely was having fun hamming it up for the camera! 🙂

  1. Very cute! I’ve made a hat and similar gloves out of a sweater…then I had to modify the gloves so my little man could use them as spiderman’s web slinging gloves. He actually slept in them. That sweater got more wear and tear after modification than it did when it was a sweater. LOL

  2. Hi Jen -I have nominated you for a { LIEBSTER BLOG AWARD }. You can check out the details here {http://blacklabelblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/liebster-blog-award/ } but please dont feel any pressure to pay it forward! It really is just me saying hi & letting you know how much I enjoy your blog & inspiration. Take care, Angelique

  3. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Scrappy Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twenty-One | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

