49-Cent Friday: Too Big Tank-Top to Skirt Refashion

Happy Friday everyone!

For this week’s refashion I started out with this too big tank-top that my daughter wasn’t all that interested in…

Tank Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

“Mom, this thing is huge on me!”

Obviously this wouldn’t work for her as-is, but she can always use more skirts, especially in the summer!

To begin, I trimmed along the neckline, to even things up a bit…

Tank-top to skirt refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Choppity Chop!

Then I found a waistband that came off of a pair of pajama pants that I had refashioned into an infinity scarf a while ago.

This will come in handy!

Tank-Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Way to be thrifty, ‘eh?

After seam-ripping the elastic away from the waistband, I measured it around the front of kid #2’s waist (a.k.a. my daughter’s), and cut it to size.
Then I inserted the elastic into the cut-open part of the waistband of the skirt (what used to be the neckline).

Tank-Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Into the tunnel it goes…

Then I hand-stitched it closed, using a hidden stitch.

Note: If you would like to know how to do this, here’s a great hidden-stitch tutorial from Fern and Freckle.

Tank-Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hidden seams!

Once the seam was sewn shut, the skirt was all done.

Because the elastic bunched what was formerly the front of the shirt together, I thought it would look better worn backwards.

Tank-Top to Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Snazzy!

… and the back…

Tank-Top to Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cutie.

Here’s a close-up of the back…
Tank-Top to Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Tank Top to Skirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

So there you have it!
Pretty easy huh?
Have a wonderful weekend everyone!
~Jen

Question: What projects have you been working on lately?

This post is linked up to:
Recycled Fashion

Wunderbar

FavePost PartyBadge photo blogbadge.jpg

Becoming Martha

19 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Too Big Tank-Top to Skirt Refashion

  1. I wish I could borrow you for a weekend…I have a pile of refashions I need to get to…ling sleeves to tanks, jeans to shorts, etc. looks like she’s happy with her cute, comfy new skirt!

    • That would be fun to get together and refashion! 😉

      She’s all about clothes right now, which makes doing refashions for her much more fun! 🙂

      I have a lot of projects in limbo right now. It’s kind of chaotic around here! Quick and easy refashions are my go-to at the moment! 😉

      Have a great weekend Amy!

  2. That is very cute. I love that style on little girls. 🙂 I get such a kick outta this blog. Every week I look forward to seeing your refashions. It really inspires me to sew more. Keep up the good work!

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twenty | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

