49-Cent Friday: High-Low Dress Refashion

Howdy!

For this week’s refashion, I started out with this ugly thing that reminded me of something from my middle-school years…

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This is NOT very flattering… I think I need to work out. Yikes!

Yuck! The only thing I liked about this dress was the print.

The first thing I needed to do was alter the hem.

I decided to make a high-low dress, so I only wanted to shorten the front of the dress.

To get it right, I pinched the middle front of the dress and the middle back of the dress and straightened it out on the table like so…

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

all laid out

Once it was smoothed out, I trimmed from the middle front, down on an angle to the side seams like this…

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

snip snip

The next thing that needed to happen was changing up that hideously high neck-line!

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

Now just pin and sew…

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

pin…

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

…and sew!

Well that was easy!
Do you like the way I dressed it up?

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Flowy!

This was a fairly easy refashion.
The fabric is so light and airy, it will be perfect for hot summer days!
(Today it’s cold and rainy, so I can’t wait to actually wear it on one of those days!)

Ugly Dress to Hi-Low Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Have a great Mother’s Day weekend everybody!
~Jen

P.S. Here are some links to some similar high-low refashions I’ve been spotting lately…

http://thisblogisnotforyou.com/bustier-minidress-with-asymmetrical-overskirt-hello-summer

http://mylifeonthedivide.blogspot.com/2012/04/how-to-refashion-your-skirt-in-to-hi.html

http://melissaesplin.com/2012/05/refashioned-high-low-floral-skirt/

http://secondhandcouture.blogspot.com/2012/10/high-low-skirt-refashion.html

http://refashionista.net/2012/06/11/day-345-low-high-low-hem-top/

http://chicenvelopements.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/diy-high-low-maxi-skirt-tutorial/

This post was featured on:

Show Of Feature Button photo featuredblogbutton.jpg

…and linked up to:
Best tutorials on dress refashions by Eddie's Room, roued.com
Recycled Fashion

Wunderbar

Gingerly Made

Becoming Martha
Dragonfly Designs

FavePost PartyBadge photo blogbadge.jpg

47 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: High-Low Dress Refashion

  1. Dear Jen,

    I just wanted to wish you a very “Happy Mothers Day”! I do hope you are well. I am loving your blog, you inspire me to want to create!

    Take care,
    Caterina

  2. Ah, this is cool! πŸ™‚ I wish I could sew whenever I see posts like this! As one of the co-hosts from the My Favorite Posts Weekend SHOW OFF Party! I wanted to personally thank you for linking up with us & to invite you to add me to your G+ circles or follow me on Twitter or Facebook as I’ve done the same with you. Also, I run a link party on my food blog, Anyonita Nibbles where you can link up recipes or food related posts. This week’s party is here: http://www.anyonitanibbles.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/tasty-tuesdays-10.html

    • Thanks Eddie! πŸ™‚ I’m having trouble finding Eddie’s Room on Facebook from my phone. 😦 I’ll definitely look you up tonight when I get home. Thanks for all of the invites! πŸ™‚

      • So I was able to get to your Facebook page from my computer, and I realized I already liked your page from my personal and blog’s Facebook page! πŸ™‚ Duh. Sorry, I must’ve forgotten. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: {Refashion} Navy-Striped Dress | All Glorious

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  5. Pingback: DIY Greek Goddess Costume | Cakegirl World

  6. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Three – Peplum! | Diary of a MadMama

  7. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  8. Hi i actually loved the dress in its origenal incarnation and preferd its look that way thought you looked very beautifull in it. Would have bought it that way lol x

Leave a Reply

