How To Can Pink Applesauce

Hey ya’all.

I really enjoy refashioning (in case you didn’t notice).

But besides that, there are other things I really enjoy as well…like baking…and canning…and gardening (just to name a few).

Today I wanted to share with you some pink applesauce I recently canned.

In one of my first posts (Mango Meyer Lemonade Recipe), I mentioned a great company, Door to Door Organics.

They are an awesome company that delivers organic produce (and other groceries) right to your door!

In a recent delivery I was able to score two 10-pound boxes of organic apples (seconds).

Note: I believe it’s important to use organic apples for canning or baking or even eating, as it is always at the top of the Dirty Dozen list of produce that contains the most pesticides… YUCK!

Anyway…I planned on using mine for making applesauce. My kids love applesauce!

And I don’t make my applesauce the way anyone I know makes it. In fact, every recipe I have ever looked up for applesauce is different than how I make it.

So here’s the Diary of a MadMama way to make applesauce. : )

To start, I sorted all of the reddest apples from the 20 pounds I had…

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Not as dark red as I would like, but oh well!

Then I washed, rinsed and quartered the apples (cutting away the core as I went along).

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Quartered and cored!

I poured lemon juice over the apple wedges every so often, to keep them from browning.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

lemony!

Once my largest pot was completely full of apple wedges, I added some water, covered the pot and cranked up the heat.

(1/2 Cup of water per 4 cups of apple slices)

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Simmering

Now and then I checked the apples for doneness.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, not quite soft enough yet.

Once they started looking soft and mushy, I knew it was time for the next step.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Gettin’ mushy

Now this is the part where other recipes will have you run your apples through a food mill to remove all skins etc.
Since I don’t have a food mill, and I don’t want to discard the most nutritious part of the apple (the skin – see this article from Livestrong.com for more info), I forego this part.

Instead, I process my apples (skins and all) with my trusty food processor…

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Cuisinart, oh how I love thee! πŸ˜‰

I run the apples in batches through my food processor until very smooth.
It works great to really get the skins chopped up until not even noticeable.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Puree!

As each batch is finished, I add it to another big pot and let it simmer (to keep warm for canning).
Once it’s all through being processed, I give it a taste to see if it’s sweet enough.

Depending upon what kind of apples are being used, the amount of sugar you may want to add to the sauce can vary greatly (if you want to add any at all).

Personally, I don’t prefer super sweet applesauce, but I don’t want it bland either. I prefer adding cinnamon, cloves, allspice and ginger (pretty much any spice I’d find in mulling spices for apple cider).

Then I taste it again to see if it needs any sugar added.
(This batch of applesauce consisted of Gala and Fuji apples.)
After adding all of my preferred spices, the sauce was good, but not quite as sweet as I would like, so I added a little organic cane sugar and then it was perfect!

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Not quite as pink as I had hoped!

Because Fuji and Gala apples aren’t a very dark red variety (personally I prefer Rome apples for making pink applesauce), the sauce was a nice peachy color, but not the dark pink hue I had hoped for.
Oh well, it still tasted delicious!
While I let the sauce simmer, I started prepping my jars.
After washing the jars, lids and rims, I put the jars in one pot of simmering water for 10 minutes…

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Heat those jars!

…and put the lids and rims in another pot of simmering water (for 10 minutes).

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Like so.

Once the 10 minutes were up, I got them out of the pot and prepped them to be filled.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Hot jars!

If you’ve never canned anything before, you’ll want to invest in some basic tools.

I purchased this Ball Utensil Set, after trying to can without it and continually burning myself.

(Yes I do learn from my mistakes).

My set consists of a jar funnel, jar lifter, lid lifter, and bubble remover and headspace tool.

I think I got it on sale for around $8.00! They usually don’t cost more than $15.00 and they’re totally worth the investment!

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Filling those jars

See how much easier it is with the proper tools?

Once I filled all of the jars, wiped the tops with a clean, damp paper towel (to ensure a good seal), and topped them with the lids and rims, back into the water bath they went to be processed for 20 minutes.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Processing the jars

After the first batch of applesauce was canned, I had an idea.
I decided to add a secret ingredient to help my applesauce look a little more pink.

Pink Applesauce

Cinnamon Imperials!

These yummy little candies not only add color, but they flavor the applesauce to taste a lot like apple cider! Yummy!

Here is the first batch of applesauce… not so pink.

Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Canned applesauce

And here is the remainder of applesauce that was left in the pot (the stuff I added the candies to)…

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty pink!

Notice the difference in color? I added about 2 handfuls of candy to the remainder of applesauce.

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

Yummy!

Check out the difference between the two batches…

Pink Applesauce | Diary of a MadMama

See the difference?

Both batches are very yummy, but the second batch tastes much more like apple cider! (And has more sugar content because of the added candies! :/)

Canning homemade goodies like this is not only good for stockpiling your pantry, but they also make great gifts!

There’s just something about creating something with your own two hands that brings such a joyful feeling! πŸ™‚

Hope you enjoyed this post!

~Jen

Question: What are your favorite canning recipes?

Feel free to share your recipes or links here or on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook page! πŸ™‚

Resources: USDA Complete Guide To Home Canning.

This post is featured on:

Anyonita Nibbles

…and linked up to:

Anyonita Nibbles

25 thoughts on “How To Can Pink Applesauce

  1. We do a bit of gardening…my uncle &i decided this year to can our vegetables and fruits, and preserve more food. I’m going to try making jellies & jams and I think I’ll get a dehydrator as well. Great post…keep em’ coming because I’m new to this & need all the help I can get πŸ™‚

    • You should check out my canning board on Pinterest. I made a ton of jams and jellies last year and gave samples of each of the different kinds I made in gift boxes for Christmas. Most of the recipes I used came from Pinterest.
      As far as getting a dehydrator, I’ve always wanted one, but they’re quite pricey. I’ve seen (on Pinterest of course) that you can dehydrate foods using your oven! I tried this with sliced bananas. I think I set the oven to 200 degrees and left them in there for at least an hour. I just looked up dried fruit or something like that on the Pinterest search bar. You could probably also google it. πŸ™‚ Let me know what you make! I’d love to share some recipes with you! πŸ™‚ P.S. I’m so happy that you and your family are safe. What a scary time to live in Oklahoma!

  2. Didn’t grow up with it in my diet so am not too used to eating apple sauce. I have only used applesauce when i tried baking Amish bread. It looks delightful though. Such pretty applesauce!

    • Thank you! I was never a big fan of applesauce. My kids really like it though, so I decided to make my own. Let me tell you, homemade is so much tastier than store bought! I’m a big fan of it now. My oldest son suggested making it into popsicles. I thought that sounded good, but haven’t tried it yet! πŸ™‚

  3. My grandma use to do a lot of canning…you make it look so easy! That’s great that you used the peels too, so healthy! You are inspiring me to try it. πŸ™‚

  4. I have canned before. My applesauce didn’t come out as pink as yours with the candies, though! That looks great! I agree with you on the necessity of organic apples. I am honestly starting to notice a subtle difference in taste, too, between the organic and conventional.

  5. Oh, WOW! I really love this post! I’ve never tried canning anything, the idea of all the sterilizing put me off, but you’ve made this look really easy to do with your step by step tutorial! Let me ask you a bit of a daft question…how long would your applesauce keep for once canned? And would you be able to store it in a cupboard or on a shelf? Thank you so much for linking up with me this week at Tasty Tuesdays! I’ve pinned this & shared it with my followers!

    • Thanks Anyonita!
      What a sweet compliment! πŸ™‚
      Applesauce should keep for 2 to 3 years if stored in a cool & dry environment. You can also freeze applesauce (although if you freeze it in the jar, you’ll want to make sure the jar’s not filled too full or it could shatter). Partially frozen applesauce reminds me of a sorbet-like dessert! Yummy!

  6. Pingback: Tasty Tuesdays Link Party #12 - Mess Makes Food

  7. Pingback: How To Make Homemade Apple Cider From Scratch! | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

