49-Cent Friday: Sweatshirt Refashion

For this week’s refashion, I started out with this pullover hooded sweatshirt.

Hoodie Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Slightly snug

I actually like this sweatshirt, but I don’t like having to pull it on and off over my head.
I figured this would be a quick fix…WRONG!
Let me explain…
First I cut a slit down the front of the sweatshirt.

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

I needed some red material to cover the raw edges that I just made by cutting that slit.
This will do nicely…

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Ferris State?

This t-shirt was mixed in with some hand-me-downs that was given to my youngest son. (So sweet!)

The thing is, this shirt is a man’s XL, and my youngest son is about a child’s size 6!

Since nobody in our household went to Ferris State, I had no problem using it in my little refashion.

I just cut two strips out of the back…

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Strip 1 and Strip 2

Then folded in the sides and pressed them…

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Steamy!

Then pinned the strips around the raw edges of the front of my sweatshirt…

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

So far so good!

…and began to sew.

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrr…hiccup…whirrr

Now here’s where I started to have problems.
As I began stitching everything in place, my darn machine started acting up! GRRR!
After messing with the tension and switching out my needle, and making sure the bobbin was wound correctly, it was still giving me trouble.
The bottom stitches kept snagging and breaking every few stitches and it didn’t look too pretty when I finally finished, but at least it’s stitched down.

Rather than trying to add a zipper with a machine that wasn’t behaving, I decided to put in the zipper by hand.

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

One side stitched in place!

Which took FOREVER!!!

But I finally finished!

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Don’t look too closely! πŸ˜‰

Now I have a comfy sweatshirt that’s much easier to put on and take off! πŸ™‚

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Check out my strawberry plants! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

If you look closely you can tell that some of the stitches look all wonky, but once I get my sewing machine spruced up, I’ll go over it again.

Hopefully I won’t have to do a bunch of no-sew or hand-sew refashions in the upcoming weeks. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

If any of you have any troubleshooting tips I’d appreciate it! πŸ˜‰

Anyway here’s a recap…

Hooded Sweatshirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Not bad for 49-cents!

Have a great Memorial weekend everyone!
~Jen

This post is linked up to:
Wunderbar

Recycled Fashion

29 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Sweatshirt Refashion

  1. Your sweatshirt turned out cute! Did you use a needle meant for sewing knits? Sometimes it’s just the size and type of needle and not your machine. Maybe a ball point needle size 14? Worth a try next time. Happy sewing!!!
    Beth

  2. Yeah, next time you get a chance, consider picking up a variety of needles. That’s probably what caused your trouble. For that much heavy fabric you probably need a tension adjustment too. You can always use similar scraps to test the stitching before you go to work on your project. I think it looks really nice, though, and was a great solution to make the sweatshirt more to your liking!

  3. Very nice! I think the zipper makes removing the sweatshirt so much more convenient. I should start thinking about refashioning some of my sweatshirts like this too. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Sixteen | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

