49-Cent Friday: No-Sew Dress Refashion

As somebody who typically doesn’t dress up very often, I wanted to challenge myself to change that bad habit.

The problem is, I normally have a hard time finding dresses that fit me.

Being slightly taller than average (I’m nearly 5’8″), brand-new store-bought dresses are often too short, and the butt-part of the dress (where the darts are sewn in to make room for your derriΓ¨re), end up in the middle of my back (which looks really weird, let me tell ya’).

I also don’t have a budget that allows me to go out and purchase a whole new dressy summer wardrobe.

(That’s where refashioning has come in handy.)

With all of the 49-cent dresses I’ve scored in the past, I’ve already got a great collection of refashioned (or soon-to-be-refashioned) summer dresses, but I just couldn’t resist adding to my collection!

I started out with this little blue number…

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

hmm?

The first thing that desperately needed to happen was removing these bad boys…

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yuck!

Then a little choppage was in order…

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop Chop!

I wanted to give this dress a slight “high-low” effect, so I cut the length using the technique I used in my High-Low Dress Refashion (only didn’t cut the angle so drastically this time).

Now This is the part where I would normally hem the sleeves and bottom of the dress.
But since this material is knit, I knew it wouldn’t fray, so I decided to save some time and make this an easy no-sew refashion by simply skipping the sewing part.

(Also, I’ve been very busy prepping to have a garage sale this weekend, so this time-saving refashion is just what I needed!)

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Much better eh?

Notice I’m wearing it backwards?
Rather than altering the neckline, I decided to wear it backwards so that I could use the zipper to decide on how high or low the neckline should be.

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

So flowy!

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I love it!

No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

And look! I’ve matched up all of my accessories! πŸ™‚ PINK!!!

So here’s a recap…
No-Sew Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Have a terrific weekend!
~Jen

This post is linked up to:

Best tutorials on dress refashions by Eddie's Room, roued.com

38 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: No-Sew Dress Refashion

  1. I find dresses so much nicer than shorts or pants for summer dressing primarily because they are cooler. I think you’ll become a convert! Your dress is cute and I love the accessories.

  2. I love the dress, and your pink accents! I’m pretty sure once you get used to dresses, you’ll be hooked. They’re easier and quicker than separates, and for some reason women look more put together in a dress. I love casual dresses with flip flops and flat sandals.

  3. Snip, snip, and you’re set to go. The zipper worn in front is clever, and much more flattering and comfortable for warm weather than the high neck. Another winning look for you!

  4. So cute, you did a great job! I really like the look of the zipper in the front, give the neckline a nice change. And I love the pink accessories with the blue dress! I too am 5’7 1/2″ to 5’8″, depending on the day, so I hear ya when it comes to finding long enough and well fitted clothing! I’m also long waisted, so that makes it even tricky-er. And thus explains my love for refashioning and sewing. πŸ™‚ Thanks for another great one!

  5. I just found your blog through /r/refashion and I’m already in love. I’m 5’10” and your comment about dress butts being halfway up your back is SO TRUE! There are so many adorable sheath dresses I would love to be wearing, just not with them fitting so poorly. Sigh. Anyways, I can’t wait to read through your blog!

    • Ha! Thanks Becky! I’m glad I’m not the only one with that problem! πŸ˜‰ That’s why refashioning is so great!

      I’m so glad you like my blog, thank you so much for your sweet comment!

      Have a great day!

  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Fifteen | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

