49-Cent Friday: Purple Sweatpants Refashion

It’s Friday!

I’ve been crazy busy lately, but I’m excited to show you what I’ve done for this week’s 49-Cent Friday post.

I started out with these purple sweatpants. I love the color, but they are a bit snug, so I don’t wear them all that much, only for lounging around the house…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This is a great book!

I like the velvety material and especially love the color. For 49-cents, I just couldn’t pass them up. But like I said, they were a bit snug…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Not very flattering.

I started out by making a long cut through the inseam of the legs and crotch…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

sniiiip!

Then I matched up the legs together in the front and in the back, and pinned them like so…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

pinned

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

and pinned

Then ran each side through my machine…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrrr

Once that was done, I trimmed off the excess material…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

trimming the fat

Then I cut off some of the length…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

CHOP!

…and folded and pinned…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

pinned

Then ran that quickly through my machine…

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

And that’s it!

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

snazzy

Easy peasy lemon squeezy!

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

What do ya’ think?

Purple Sweatpants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

holla!

I thought I’d go with a quick and easy refashion this Friday, since I’ve been spending most of my sewing time on the refashion I’ve been working on for the Refashion Runway Competition you’ll get to see tomorrow!

I’ll be posting the tutorial for my refashion here, but you can see the before and after pictures, as well as all of the other contestants’ refashions on Beth’s blog, The Renegade Seamstress!

Be sure to vote for your favorite!

I’m so excited! I just can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with!

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

Purple Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

23 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Purple Sweatpants Refashion

  1. It looks great on you. Love love love the color and the fit. You’ve probably got just enough material left to make your daughter a matching skirt. :p

  2. Cute skirt and it looks so comfy, too.
    Thanks for linking back to my site, since I don’t use the name Chic Envelopements anymore, do you mind changing it to The Renegade Seamstress instead? I really appreciate it. Can’t wait to post Refashion Runway tomorrow!!!
    Beth

  3. Weeee! I would just love to drop by your house on Fridays and watch your mind at work. 🙂 What book are you reading in the first pic that you mention is a good one? Does it talk about re-fashioning?

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent FAIL!!! | Diary of a MadMama

  5. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Ten | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

