Refashion Runway Competition: Week One – Stripes!

Hey everyone! I am so excited to show you my first refashion for the Refashion Runway Competition,  hosted by my friend Beth, over at The Renegade Seamstress. For the first week of competition, the theme of our challenge was STRIPES! So while I was peddling my wares during the garage sale I had last weekend, I noticed a lot of the female customers were sporting cute maxi dresses (It was hot and humid on Saturday). I thought to myself, “I’d sure like to have a maxi dress right about now.”  Instead, I was sweatin’ my patootie off in jeans and a t-shirt. Then all of a sudden the light bulb went off! I decided to make a maxi dress from some of the t-shirts and tank-tops that weren’t selling, and by incorporating strips cut from each of these shirts, I’d be creating the stripes that would fit the theme! Here’s what I started with…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Shirts!

Even though I had all of my clothes priced at a mere 50-cents a piece, after taking a closer look, I started to see why these shirts just weren’t moving…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Holey Moley!

Oops! How’d I miss that? Well if you think that’s bad, look at what else I found…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Oopsie daisy!

Bleach stains! Yikes! Well, the good thing is, I can still use all of these shirts, holes, stains, shrinkage, stretching and all. And here’s the reason why…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Strips!

By cutting the shirts into strips, I was able to cut around any holes, stains and what have you. I decided to use the top portion of the pink and white striped shirt as the top of my dress, but I noticed that the material was rather sheer. As a result, I didn’t want to have to wear a slip underneath this dress, so I decided to line it with the pink tanktop…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Layered!

Since the shirt was just a smidge too low cut for my comfort, the layering also helped fix the neckline. I matched up the seams at the shoulders and sides, and then ran them through my machine to make sure they stayed together.

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned at the shoulders…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Attached at the seams.

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Stitch that seam!

Oh yeah, I also cut it up a bit…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

I layered the striped blue and white t-shirt as well, using the blue tank-top as the lining, and used the same technique to attach them as I did above. Next I began to pin on those strips…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Pin it!

This part took some time. I tend to go overboard with my pinning.

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Making stripes!

Now maybe it would’ve been smarter for me to sew each strip on before pinning on the next, but that’s not how I did it. I just kept adding on each next strip, right sides together, until it looked like this…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Lookin’ pretty good so far!

Because this was so full of pins, it was a bit tricky to get off Esmerelda. (That’s my dress form, I guess I’ve never formally introduced you to her. Oops! My bad!) Anyway, after very carefully removing the dress from my dress form, the only thing left to do was sew…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

…and sew and sew and sew…

Once I was finally done sewing, I was very happy with the results…

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

All Done!

I must admit, this is THE most comfortable thing I have ever made! I like it so much, I want to scour my garage for more t-shirts in other colors/patterns to make a bunch more!

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Sooo comfy!

Refashion Runway Competition Week One "Stripes" | Diary of a MadMama

Check out my perty flower!

Whew! So I got through the first theme of the Refashion Runway Competition! Woohoo! I can’t wait to see what my fellow refashionistas have come up with! Don’t forget to head over to the competition to see all of the refashions and vote for your favorite! ~Jen Refashion Runway Competition: Week One Stripes | Diary of a MadMama

This post is linked up to:

46 thoughts on “Refashion Runway Competition: Week One – Stripes!

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw all those T-shirts and seriously had NO idea what you were going to do, then BAMN!! Fabulous. You made stripes :). The maxi dress is just lovely. I think folks should just bow to your re-fashion expertise now. 😛

    • Thanks Sharon! 🙂 That’s awesome, Suzanne is a wonderful name for a dress form. 🙂 I’m so glad you’re participating in the sew along! I’m going to go check it out right now! 🙂

  2. WOW!! I’m impressed!! There are some many variations that can be done using this awesome idea!!

    Very nice color choices too!! 🙂

  3. WOW! You took this challenge seriously. I like the solids-made-into-stripes better than the stripes themselves, but it is a cute look overall and makes my daughter want a maxi dress even more.

  4. I am a follower of the blog “The Renegade Seamstress”. I seen the competition on her blog and you stopped me dead in my scroll!! All I could think was….. A.MAZ.ING!! You are so inspiring!! What creativity you have 🙂 You have my I am vote!! I am now a follower of Diary of a Mad Mama 🙂 Awesome work!! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’d like to find some darker colored t-shirts and make another one with different colors! And perhaps a maxi skirt too! Plus my daughter has already requested one in her size! 🙂 (Which made my day, because suddenly she’s very picky about what she wears and it’s usually the opposite of what I suggest). :/

  5. I LOVE THISSSSS! Just have to tell you how inspired I was! After I finished my refashion for the Sew-Along portion I added a striped maxi dress to my list of things to do!!! 🙂 GREAT JOB!!!

  6. Pingback: Refashion Runway Competition: Week Two – Denim! | Diary of a MadMama

  7. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  8. When I saw the dress on your form, I thought, “No way is that going to look good!”. I’m eating my words now, with a little “Holy crap! That’s awesome!” taking their place. 🙂 Great Job!!

    • Ha! Thanks Celeste! It’s getting colder here in Michigan, so I haven’t been able to wear this in a while, but I was thinking about making one out of sweaters for a warmer maxi dress. What do you think?

  9. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Four | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

