49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion

Howdy everyone!

This week has been a whirlwind for me.

Since last weekend, my family has celebrated 2 birthdays, gone to my daughter’s dance recital (she had 3 dances), and I even got to be a villain in the movie my 14 year old son is making (I had one line and then I got shot and died – so sad, I know).

Because of this movie, I also had to entertain quite a few teenagers (who were also in the movie) for several days in a row. Between all of the chauffeuring, shopping, cooking and baking that went along with that, I am exhausted!…and broke! Those kids eat a TON!…I also did 3 refashions this week, including the one you’ll see tomorrow for the Refashion Runway Competition. I can’t wait for you to see what I did for this week’s theme, which is “denim”! But you’ll just have to wait until tomorrow for that! (I wouldn’t want to ruin the surprise, after all!)

For any of you who follow me on Facebook (or Pinterest), hopefully that will explain the sounds of crickets coming from the MadMama Facebook Page! 😉

For today’s refashion, I started with this dress…

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm? I’m not feeling it!

Is it just me or do I look 20 years older in this thing? Not very flattering!

There’s definitely potential though. I just love the pretty flower print and colors of this dress.
I knew this refashion would be quick and easy.

To begin, I simply chopped off some of the length.

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Big chop!

Then I took the fabric that I just cut off the bottom, folded it over width-wise (right sides together), and sewed, making a long tube.

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

No waste from this refashion!

Since the opened ends of the tube were already hemmed, I left them alone, and just pulled the tube through itself so it was right-side-out.

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pull it through.

The only thing left to do is hem the bottom of the dress!

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Isn’t the fabric pretty?

I decided to leave the neckline and sleeves alone, because I actually liked the way it looked when I tried it on again.

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All done!

I love how comfy and light and airy it is. It can also be worn with a wide black belt, which changes the look a bit.

(Darn, I should’ve taken pics with my black belt, sorry.)

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Check out the back.

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

The belt could be tied in front, back or on the side. I love how double knotting it looks kinda like a bow. So pretty!

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Accidental close-up! “Where’d my head go?”

Isn’t it interesting how changing the length and cinching the waist can change the look so much? I love how easy this was.

Stay tuned tomorrow, to see what I did with denim! That refashion was quite a bit more difficult and time-consuming! (But worth it!)

Have a great weekend!
~Jen

49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

18 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Summer Dress Refashion

  1. Belts make such a big difference. I still have to talk myself into believing that since they make everyone else in the world look slim and shapely they can’t make me look fat. Ah…the tricks our mind tries to play on us.

  2. Pingback: Refashion Friday: Paint Me Pretty |

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Seven | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

