49-Cent Friday: Two-Shirts-to-Dress Refashion

Happy Friday!

My daughter found these two shirts at the thrift store for (you guessed it) 49-cents each, with the purpose of a refashion in mind (That’s my girl!).

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

First shirt. Not bad!

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Second shirt. Yikes!

The first shirt fit great, and was cute, but with the long sleeves and hood it wouldn’t get any wear for several months (I heard it was going to be 90 degrees tomorrow!). So knowing how quickly my daughter grows, and how there’s no way it will still fit her by then, we decided to refashion it!

We started by chopping off the sleeves and hood (being careful to save the border).

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Choppage complete!

Then I took the border thing and carefully pinned it back on around the neckline…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Fixing the collar

Once that was carefully sewn back together, I hemmed the sleeves…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

pinning the sleeves

The next thing to do was shorten up the length…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Shorten that shirt!

Now to get crackin’ on the skirt…
I took the big frumpy cardigan, and drew a straight line from one armpit to the other, like so…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Ready to chop!

Then I just cut across the line…easy peasy!
This left me with a nice square shape.
I ran the top (raw) edge through my sewing machine, doing a basting stitch.
After stitching, I pulled the threads to gather up the material and get it to the same width as the striped shirt (This made it easier to sew them together).

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

gathering the skirt

Once it was all gathered, I pinned it to the shirt (right sides together), and sewed…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

attaching the skirt to the shirt

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Sewing in place

Now I realized that the finished dress was still way too big in the middle for my daughter’s skinny little waist.

To remedy this, I grabbed a piece of elastic I salvaged from this refashion, and stretched it along the inside back of the dress, pinned and sewed…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Attach that elastic!

This gathered it up just enough to fit perfectly without being too tight!

The only thing left to finish this dress is to make a belt!
I used the bottom piece that I chopped off the striped shirt, and stretched it out a bit.
Then I folded it over width-wise and stitched it together…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Stretched and folded over.

Once sewn, this created a long tube. I pulled it through itself, right side out…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

A snake!

To finish the belt, I grabbed each rough end…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

rough edges

…folded it in a bit…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

folded in

…pinched it together…

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

squeezed shut

…and sewed it!

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

sewn down

Perfect belt!
What do you think?

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

Cute!

IMG_2875 IMG_2876

Refashioning 2 shirts into little girl's dress | Diary of a MadMama

reading her American Girl magazine

So for $1.04 (including tax) we were able to turn two frumpy shirts into a cute summer dress!
Plus we even have “leftovers” for a future refashion!
Hmm, I’m starting to accumulate quite a few “leftovers” from all of these refashions. Maybe I’ll have to do a leftovers refashion in the near future!

Stay tuned tomorrow for my “Copycat” theme for the Refashion Runway Competition! I can’t wait to see what all of my fellow competitors have come up with!

~Jen

Refashioning 2 Shirts Into Little Girl's Dress | Diary of a MadMama

P.S. Any of you who haven’t already liked the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page, I’d love to connect with you there! You can feel free to suggest any refashions you’d like to challenge me with or share your refashions with me as well! ๐Ÿ™‚

23 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Two-Shirts-to-Dress Refashion

  1. Pingback: But it was 99 cents! | Dreambles

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Nine | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

