49-Cent Friday: Facebook Challenge – Upcycled Lampshade!

Hi everyone!

For today’s 49-cent Friday refashion I’m using scraps from several articles of clothing that originally cost 49-cents each, but were already used on other refashions.

This idea was given to me as a challenge by The Cherry Mama.

She sent me this link on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page, and I decided I was up for the challenge!

Here’s the picture that went along with the link she sent…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Cute right?

The original tutorial had you use the Aleene’s brand fabric fusion peel and stick sheets, and after watching the video tutorial, it looked so easy!

But since I didn’t have any of the peel and stick sheets, I figured I’d just use the hot glue I had on hand instead.

Bottom Line: If I were you, I’d totally go to the trouble of going to the craft store and getting these sticky things! After gluing my fingers together and making a huge mess with the glue gun, it would’ve been worth my while to just go and get the sticky sheet things.

Anyway, I happened to have a lampshade that wasn’t in the best of condition…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

It’s a bit banged up!

This shade has little holes in the plastic inside, and when the light is on it is obvious that the shade’s in bad shape. I thought this project would be a perfect way to mask the messed up part of the shade.

Also, the lampshade shown in the original tutorial uses a flat shade, whereas mine has lots of creases. So I figured, “What the heck, I’ll give it a shot anyway”.

So I got busy cutting up my scraps into strips…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Fabric scraps, cut into strips.

After I got a few strips ready, I grabbed one, and twisted it…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Twisty!

Then I dabbed some glue on one end and started winding it around itself like a flower…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Glue and twist.

For those who’ve been tracking my blog, this is pretty much the same technique I used on the necktie flower pins I made.

I kept gluing and twisting like this, until the whole strip was wound into a flower…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty ‘eh?

This was quite monotonous and took a lot more glue than I anticipated! But it was a cool way to use up scraps!
Check out all these flowers…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Multi-colored flowers.

(Again, if I had just made the trip to the darn craft store and purchased the sticky strips, this would’ve been much easier and quicker! So if you want to try it out, I would highly recommend using them)

Instead, I went through almost a full bag of glue sticks and ran out of glue before getting enough flowers made to cover even half of my shade!

You can see what it’s going to look like when it’s finished though…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Hmmm, still have a ways to go.

Here’s a close up…

49-Cent Friday: Upcycled Lampshade | Diary of a MadMama

Shabby chic!

So even though I wasn’t able to finish this in time for my Friday post, I wanted to at least show you my progress so far.

I will update you all with the finished shade (once I get my keester to the craft store!).

Have a great weekend, and if you haven’t done so already, don’t forget to head over to the Refashion Runway Competition and vote for your favorite.

Also stay tuned for week four’s “Summer Dress” challenge. I’ll be posting my dress refashion tomorrow!

~Jen

PS What projects have you been working on? Where do you find inspiration for your refashions? Leave a comment below and let me know!

8 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Facebook Challenge – Upcycled Lampshade!

    • Awesome! I’m glad you like it! We are actually camping right now at a rustic site, so I was having a hard time sharing this post with you via my phone! I was able to snag a wifi signal at a coffee shop now! Because of our camping trip, I wasn’t able to get the stuff necessary to finish the lamp before my Friday post, so I’m glad you like it (so far)! 😉 I’ll let you know when it’s all done and show you how it looks!
      I can’t wait to see your rag rug when it’s done. Will you be blogging about it?

      • Yes along with another time consuming magazine art piece… and I’m working on time consuming jewelry. Now seeing all the things I am doing I realized that’s too much. Ha ha ha. Well I am glad you can get rustic. I sure don’t. My favorite quote I have seen around: I am outdoorsy, as in I like to get drunk on patios.
        Ha.

      • Well I did sweet-talk the people at the check-in to borrow their plug to blow up my air-bed. Ha! I don’t mind rustic as long as their is an awesome lake nearby to jump in and rinse off. (and a way to blow up my airbed). I have horrible insomnia, so the air bed helps!
        You crack me up. “drunk on patios”.
        You sound like you’re keeping quite busy! I can’t wait to see all the awesome-sauce things you’re working on!

  1. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Scraptastic Braided Headband Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  2. Pingback: What can you make with a vintage dress? | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

Leave a Reply

