49-Cent Friday: Scraptastic Braided Headband Refashion

Howdy Folks!

For this week’s refashion I thought about doing something patriotic! (And quick because I’m sure most of us would rather be at the beach, am I right?)

I wanted to use up some scraps along with some old duds that I already had. (I kinda feel like I’m cheating because only one of the items in this refashion cost 49-cents, the rest I already had, but oh well!)

So to start, I grabbed these shirts…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty patriotic ‘eh?

Each of these had a problem of some sort…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Bleach stains!

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Eew! Grease stain!

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

How rude!

Now this shirt didn’t necessarily have anything wrong with it as far as the way it fit. It didn’t have any stains on it or anything, but I HATE shirts with rude sayings (especially when kids are wearing them). If I see a kid wearing a shirt like this, I’m totally going to judge them and think that they’re a brat (sorry). So I definitely wouldn’t want my kid wearing one. “Well why do you have this shirt?” – you might ask…
Well this shirt was given to us (along with a bunch of other clothes) by our nice neighbor boy who is a size or two bigger than my youngest son (and definitely not a brat!)

I figured I could find a use for it.

First I noticed a whole bunch of buttons that I definitely wanted to save, so I got busy cutting those off…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Saving those buttons!

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Look at all those buttons!

Then I cut a strip of red fabric, white fabric and blue fabric from each of the shirts in my little stash…

(I did take a picture of this step, but it somehow vanished into thin air!)

Then I tied each strip together and stretched them out a bit…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Streeetch!

I was actually visiting my parents the day this project was made, and I had brought all of my crafting supplies in this handy little purple box that had a great handle just perfect for the next step…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Hey! This works great!

After tying my strips onto the handle, I started braiding them together like so…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

…braiding…

The only tricky thing with this step, was keeping the ends from getting all tangled up.
(check out this post to see how I prevented any tangles!)

Once the braiding was complete, I tied off both of the ends…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Tying off one end…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

…and the other.

Then I measured the braid around my daughter’s head…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Measuring her head.

And sewed it together at the right spot…

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Tying it off…

Once it was sewn together nicely, I tied off the thread and cut the new headband apart from the rest of the braid.

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Cute ‘eh?

There was just enough braid left to make a couple of matching bracelets.

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Hmmm, leftovers!

I stitched through the middle of the leftover braid to allow me to cut through it without the braid coming undone, then attached the two smaller braids together (by hand stitching, although this could be done simply by tying them in a knot!)
Now my daughter has a headband and matching bracelet, plus an extra bracelet to give to her friend!

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

I want one!

Now I plan on making some more little fabric scrap flowers (like I made in this post) to attach to the headband, but right now everyone keeps pestering me to join them in the pool, so I’ll bid you adieu!

Braided Headband Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

“Ok, but no splashing!”

Have a great weekend and I hope you all enjoyed the holiday!
~Jen

Diary of a MadMama

14 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Scraptastic Braided Headband Refashion

  1. Cute headband. Sometimes, really most of the time, I have good luck getting out grease stains with dishsoap–Dawn or Palmolive or something like that. Apply straight to the stain, rub it in a little, and wash as usual.

    • Awesome tip! Thanks! I had two identical blue t-shirts like this, and after this one was washed and dried, I didn’t bother trying to get the stain out since I had a second one! I will use this tip next time though! 🙂

  2. Haha I really like your comment about kids with rude t-shirts. I totally agree! Also I would probably judge the parents the most since a lot of kids just put on what their parents give them.

    • Thanks Miche! I was thinking about making some thicker ones too and adding fabric flowers. I’ll have to update the post when I do! Congratulations on winning the Summer Dress Refashion theme! I had a feeling you would. Loved your dress. The heart cutout was my favorite part. Very cute! 😉

    • Thanks Lauren! I have a lot of plans for today & tomorrow, but then Wednesday through Saturday the hubs is going to be gone for work, so I thought I’d take advantage of that time and lock myself in my studio and get caught up on all my sewing! Has the temperature dropped for you yet?

Leave a Reply

