49-Cent Friday: Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion

I’ve seen a lot of polka-dotted peplum dresses on Pinterest lately.

So when I saw this polka-dot number for 49-cents, I knew just what to do with it!

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yowza!

Hmm, not my idea of a good time!
The thing that I liked about this dress (other than the polka dots), was the fact that it completely buttoned up, making it easy to refashion.

The first thing that I needed to do was remove these ties from the back…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

We won’t be needing these!

Once I picked them away with my seam ripper, I was left with an opening in the seam where each of the ties used to be…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Holey Moley!

After stitching up the holes, I got busy taking in these darts…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Just pin…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

…then sew!

At this point, the wrinkles were really starting to get on my nerves, so I gave the dress a quick press…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Wrinkles be gone!

Now the pictures from the next step seem to have mysteriously vanished into thin air, so I’ll just explain what happened next.
I chopped off the bottom section of the dress to shorten it a bit, then hemmed it.
The section that I removed from the bottom is what I planned on using for the peplum.
I sewed a basting stitch along the panel and then gathered it up…

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Gathering it up.

Now the only thing to do was pin on the peplum and sew!

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All pinned!

After sewing on the peplum, it was all done!

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Now for any of you who’ve been following this blog for a while, you might remember this peplum refashion I did at the very beginning…

Easter Dress to Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

meh

Being one of my first ever refashions, I guess it wasn’t too bad.
This definitely didn’t turn out anything like I had envisioned and let’s be honest, it really didn’t look like much of a peplum.
So for my second attempt, I’m much happier with the results.
I do wonder if I should’ve placed the peplum just a smidge lower on my waist though.
What do you think?

Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Also, what do you think of the new layout?
I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!
~Jen

This post is linked up to:

44 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Polka-Dot Peplum Dress Refashion

      • I was having an issue with my widgets going all wonky all over my page, and I could not for the life of me figure out how to fix it. Plus I also couldn’t figure out how to get the cute social media buttons on my previous theme.
        I loved how clutter-free this theme was too and pink and black are my favorite colors! πŸ™‚ Perfect!

  1. I LOVE your new re-fashion!! The whole outfit is just fabulous! I think it depends on whether you want to look more or less short/long waisted as to where you put the peplum. I think it looks great where you have it. If you were very short-waisted, you could cheat and put the peplum lower than your natural waist and vice versa if you are long waisted.

  2. What a beautiful success! Before reading your commentary on the dress, I thought how perfectly you had positioned the peplum on your waist and had determined to tell you so! :o)

  3. Pingback: SIA: Bright and bold | Librarian for Life and Style

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Thirty-One | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

