49-Cent Friday: Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion

Hey everyone! Β Happy Friday!

I hope you’ve all had a great week so far.

My week has been crazy busy!

My family is going through a lot of changes as of late and it’s been a very stressful and overwhelming time.

When I feel overwhelmed, exercising helps to release some of the stress and tension I’m feeling.

Prayer also helps, because I tend to be a major worrier, and it’s usually me worrying about things that I have no control over. I found that when I remember to stop worrying and pray instead, it really helps my mental well-being as well.

Finally, a third thing that really helps me when I’m in a state of stress-induced panic, is having a creative outlet…like refashioning! Β There’s just something about creating that helps take the focus off of all of the other chaos and commotion going on around you.

For this week’s refashion I started out with this shirt I found several weeks ago at Mel Trotter for 49-cents…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

hmm, a little snug

This shirt perfectly matched a skirt I’ve had in my closet so long that I can’t for the life of me even remember where I got it from…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

not too shabby

I’ve always really liked the print of this skirt, and the bright colors, but I’ve never been a big fan of wrap around skirts.
At any moment while wearing them a wind could blow and…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oh dear!

…suddenly you’ve flashed the whole neighborhood…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yikes!

As a result of not wanting to have any Marilyn Monroe moments, this skirt has been collecting dust in the back of my closet for years.
I just couldn’t bear to part with it though, because I really really like the awesome print.

So today, I finally decided to rescue this poor skirt and turn it into something I’d actually feel safer wearing, like a new maxi dress!

To begin the refashion, I snipped off the two buttons that held the whole thing together…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

snip off those buttons

This left me with a big, somewhat rectangular, piece of material.
I folded it in half, matched up the sides (right sides together), and pinned them in place.

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned in place!

Then I ran them through my sewing machine…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Stitchin’ it together!

Once it was all connected, I noticed this…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, what to do with these?

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Snip!

Now I just needed to decide where to attach the new skirt to the shirt.
I placed the shirt on my dress form, and placed a pin to mark where I wanted the skirt to be attached.

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pin marks the spot.

After removing the shirt, I cut just below the pin…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

I attached the shirt to the skirt by placing the shirt inside the skirt matching the waist of the skirt to the waist of the shirt (right sides together), pinned and sewed…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See?

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

After trying the new dress on, I didn’t like how loose it was in the waist, so I grabbed a scrap of elastic, measured it around my back, and pinned it along the inside back seam, where the shirt and skirt were sewn together…

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinning down that elastic.

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Stitch on that elastic!

Once it was sewn in place, I was all done. That was easy!

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See how the elastic gathers it slightly in the back?

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Now when the wind blows I don’t have to panic!

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This skirt is made from polyester and is incredibly wrinkle-resistant, which I love! I mean who wants to iron?

I also really like the tropical print, it makes me think of the beach, and I for one, would live at the beach all summer if I could!

Thanks for hanging out with me today and checking out my latest refashion.

Be sure to hit me up on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page for more of the madness!

Speaking of tropical prints and the beach, where is your favorite place to go in the summer?

What beaches do you love?

~Jen

Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

 

This post is linked up to:

38 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion

    • Thanks! I thought maybe a skinny belt would look cute with it, but I couldn’t find one that matched. It’s on my list of things to look out for the next time I go thrifting though! πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for your sweet comments! πŸ˜‰

  1. You’re so clever! I wonder, have you ever draped your own pattern on your dress form? It’s a skill that can be learned…but I feel like its one of those things that some people just have a natural talent for. I’ve never felt super comfortable draping, but I bet you’d be a whiz.

    Have you ever read The Wardrobe Surgeon? She does some crazy refashions that are awesome!

    • Thanks Amy!
      I’ve done draping for certain refashions, like the denim jacket, and a few others, but I’ve never created my own pattern that way. Thanks for the vote of confidence! πŸ™‚
      Are you referring to The Wardrobe Surgeon blog? I follow a WordPress blog called Wardrobe Surgeon and she’s awesome.
      Do you drape your own patterns? I think that would be fun, I’ll have to give it a try sometime! πŸ™‚

  2. Great print and the skirt looks so cute on you.
    When I’m stressed, a verse that is of great comfort to me is, “be still and know that I am God.”
    Wishing you stillness and peace:)

    • Thanks Joanne! It is easy! My first refashion worked, but not as I had hoped. Each time I did another one, it became easier and I learned as I went. In fact I’m still learning! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! πŸ™‚

  3. Cute dress! It’s great when you can combine two items that you like but never wear. It’s Winter for me right now but in Summer I go to the beach all the time too. I live in New Zealand so you probably wouldn’t know any of the beaches I go too!

      • Thank you sweet heart πŸ™‚ I haven’t had any entries yet! I don’t really know how/where to advertise about it, do you know? Xx

      • I would mention it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google Plus, Reddit, Stumble Upon, and do a search to see if maybe there are any link parties specifically for contests/giveaways that you could link up to. πŸ™‚
        I will spread the word for you as well. πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: {Refashion} Shirred Maxi Dress | All Glorious

  5. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Wrap Around Skirt to Maxi Dress Refashion | Attire stuff

  6. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday Refashion: Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf | Diary of a MadMama

  7. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twenty-Five | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

