49-Cent Friday: T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion

While perusing Pinterest the other day, I came across this adorable shrug, refashioned from a t-shirt via the Wobisobi blog.

I thought to myself, “Hey I can do that!” So I decided to do just that!

I started out with a yellow t-shirt that cost me a mere 49-cents, and a black t-shirt from my closet…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

hmm?



By the way, did you see my pretty flowers?

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Ooh, pretty!

Anyway, back to the subject…
There were a couple of problems with these t-shirts, the yellow one had a neckline that was suffocating! It was too high and slightly too tight.
The black t-shirt was made from thin material, and it only took a few wears and washes before this happened…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Holey Moley!

So although these shirts just weren’t cutting it as-is, they were perfect for the refashion I had in mind for today!

I decided to start with the yellow shirt.
To begin, I (following the directions from the Wobisobi blog) cut up the front of the shirt and around the neckline like so…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

snip snip

The next thing to do was make a casing, by folding over (about an inch) and pinning…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned!

Then sew…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

Now I grabbed my black shirt and snipped off the bottom hem and then cut off the bottom strip of the shirt where all the holes were…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

chop chop

I took the bottom hem and cut the seam to make a long strip, tied a knot in the end and guided it through the casing…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

knotted ends

Almost done!
Now I grabbed the neckline that was trimmed off the yellow shirt, cut at the seam to make a long strip, and coiled the strip up to resemble a rose…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

A yellow rose!

To keep it together, I just hand stitched it back and forth from the back, and then stitched it onto the front of my new shrug.

Then I took the other strip that I cut off of the black t-shirt (the one with the holes), ran a basting stitch down the length of the strip, and gathered it into a ruffle.
Then I wrapped the ruffle around the flower and stitched that down too…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Like this. Kinda fancy huh?

Now that the yellow shrug was complete, I decided to turn what was left of my black t-shirt into another one.

I wanted to do this one a little bit differently.
Instead of trimming off the neck, I just cut a strip right down the middle of the front of the shirt…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

snip

Then folded each side over and pinned them to make casings…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned.

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

And sewed.

Then I cut the bottom hem off of the leftover scraps of a white t-shirt that had previously been refashioned.

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, this will work perfectly!

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pull it through the casing…

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

And tie it in a bow!

Now that they’re both complete, what do you think?

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Too much black?

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Photo bombed!

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Little sneak!

My daughter really liked this refashion too.
I think she may be borrowing these often, and has already put in a request for me to make some more for her.

What are some t-shirt refashions you’ve seen or done lately?

Have a great weekend everyone!

~Jen

T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

18 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: T-Shirt to Shrug Refashion

  1. simply amazing! I really love how this project ended up. And thank you for showing some ideas of what to do with old T-shirts. I have so many of them and would love to see more tutorials on the subject. xoxo

  2. Wow, those are so easy *and* look cute! I’m pretty sure I have the Wobisobi version pinned, I’ve just never done it. I’m going to have to make me some now. I’m thinking long sleeve versions would be great for fall! 🙂 Thanks for doing this!

  3. Hi Jen! I think these we totally adorable! I actually have a pile of old t shirts and jumpers that are destined to be boleros! I seem to suit bolero shrugs quite well (because they cover up the bad bad bingo wings I have! haha)
    I will definitely be using your tute to get them done! Thank you!
    And good job!
    Lauren

    http://Www.angelfairydust.blogspot.com

    Don’t miss the competition!!
    Anyone can enter!

    Xx

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday Refashion: Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

