49-Cent Friday: Vera Bradley Pants Refashion

Happy Friday ya’ll!

This past week has been a blast!

The kids and I were blessed to be able to spend the majority of it with family, doing lots of fun activities!

Because of the busy week, I actually got started with this week’s refashion a lot earlier in the week than I normally do.

I’m a big time procrastinator (most of the time).

Since I got this week’s refashion done early, I was able to take some “out and about” pictures in it for once!

Anyway, for this week’s refashion, I started with a pair of Vera Bradley pants that I found months and months ago (for 49-cents of course).

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cute right?
Too bad they’re too small!

I really like the print and bright colors on these pants. I also really like the corduroy fabric.
What I don’t like is this…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Missing buttons! Oh no!

Or this…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

EXTRA small? Grrr!

The reason that I’ve had these pants for so long and haven’t bothered to refashion them until now is because I was (foolishly) trying hoping to fit into them.

Eventually I realized that it probably wasn’t a very realistic goal, and so I decided  that a refashion was in order.

The first thing I did was find some matching buttons…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Like these!

Then I sewed them on…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Beautimous ‘eh?!

After attaching the buttons I ripped open the inseam and crotch (using my nifty little seam-ripper).

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Open up that inseam!

At about this point in my refashion it was starting to get dark outside, and so I asked my techie 14 year-old-son (who likes to dabble in film making) to set up his lights (so my pictures would look more professional).

After plugging in one of the lights, the cord (which was right by my foot) started popping and sparking and shooting flames out.

After my son quickly unplugged the light, the carpet looked like this…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Seriously??!!?!??!! Ugh! Not cool!

Yeah, burnt carpet!

We are getting ready to list our house to sell, and in the last few days, we’ve had the kitchen faucet break, the coat closet door fall down, and the carpet catch on fire! :/ Fun times!

Anyway, after calming down from the fright of almost catching on fire, I pinned the opened seams of my new skirt, right sides together…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned!

And then sewed!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whirr!

Now, halfway through sewing the front seam of the skirt, I realized that in order to get this thing on and off, I would need to add a zipper.
Luckily for me, I found one on a dress (future refashion) that I was able to repurpose!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Repurposed zipper!

I’m not a big fan of sewing zippers, but I was determined to do a good job, so I took a very long time pinning this puppy on perfectly, and using my zipper foot, I took my time and very carefully sewed that zipper on.

I must say I’m happy with how it turned out! 🙂

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yay for zippers!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Almost done!

Once the zipper was sewn on, I was all done!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

The zipper makes walking so much easier! I’m not really into walking like a Geisha!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

And when I sit, I can zip it down for more modesty…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Ah, nice warm legs.

And look, a pocket!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I wore my new skirt to Horrock’s (my favorite local market), to get some free coffee!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Mmm, coffee!
Free coffee! 🙂

Later in the day I was able to continue my love affair with the word “free,” as I went to free day at the Grand Rapids Art Museum (GRAM) with my cousin and her kids.

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yay! Free Tuesday at the GRAM!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Fun times with the cousins!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

One of my favorite paintings!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, interesting.

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cool sky.

There was a really cool quilt exhibit at the museum, but I wasn’t able to take pictures of that. 😦

After hanging out at the museum for a good part of the day with my cousins, I took my kids to my parents house for a few days, and we had a lot of fun together too!

We spent one day going on a really long bike ride together…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

The town I grew up in has a castle! Isn’t that cool? We rode our bikes by it.

The Castle was built in 1922, and it was the home of author James Oliver Curwood, who used one of the turrets as a writing studio.

In fact, James Oliver Curwood was born in Owosso in 1878 (101 years before I was born!)

Altogether, we rode a total of 8 miles!

The next day we went to the fair and enjoyed a surrey ride…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Horsey ride!

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

My oldest child refuses to smile for the camera, always with the silly faces!

We all especially liked the swings, but they were a bit high…

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Just a swingin’!

I got a bad case of motion sickness on several of the rides, but still had a lot of fun with my mom and the kiddos.

Now I’m hoping for a nice relaxing weekend at home, to recuperate from my busy, fun-filled week! 🙂

How did you spend your week?

~Jen

Vera Bradley Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

31 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Vera Bradley Pants Refashion

  1. My goodness, that skirt is adorable. I’ve been following you for a while now and I did not realize you were from michigan. I grew up in michigan although muh further south than owosso. I spent my whole week getting my newly finished basement ready for a party this weekend.

    • That’s true! Sometimes it’s better to wait for the perfect inspiration than to just wing it, although a refashion could always be refashioned again if it doesn’t turn out right the first go round.

  2. Nice one, I have lots of clothes that I cannot bear to part with and keep saying “one day” think it’s time I tried some of your ideas. Love reading your blog you really make me laugh who else could turn a catastrophy into a comedy!! Thanks for sharing will stay tuned for the next installment XX

  3. Great job. 🙂 Oh dear, I do hope nothing else malfunctions or starts on fire so you can less-stressfully sell your house! Good luck and blessings with that endeavor!

    • Thank you so much. You are so sweet! These have been trying times lately for sure! For the last 3 1/2 months my husband has only been home on the weekends, as he has been working far away. He recently accepted a job several hours away and we’ve been having a hard time finding housing for us up there, and getting our house ready to sell. So I appreciate your encouraging words!

      • That does sound tough- my family did something very similar when I was in high school. We lived in a 100 year old house that we remodeled and fixed up through the time we lived there, but there was a big push to get it ready for the market. Once it was ready, it sold pretty quick. The hard part was finding a house to move into, it took patience, but after some time, the right door opened up and it was just what we needed. So hang in there! Work pays off and the right door will open at the right time! 🙂

  4. Hi, great idea with the zipper. I used to remake old wide jean trousers into a skirt. Even though legs were wide like a trumpet after turning it into a skirt it only allowed small ladylike steps. Even though, the skirt looks great so I like to wear it when I don’t hurry anywhere. ;P

  5. I have never care for front slits in skirts due to sitting down and showing off everything up to your navel! You have solved the problem brilliantly!!!

Leave a Reply

