49-Cent Friday: Easy No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion

Hi there everyone!

I’ve been doing a lot of canning lately.

My cousin and I have canned zucchini relish, two different kinds of salsa (one being peach salsa), and then we took the peach pits and skins (that otherwise would’ve been thrown out), and used them to make peach jelly.

I’ve had so much fun that I decided to can the leftover half of watermelon that was being neglected in our fridge, by turning it into watermelon jelly. I couldn’t let the rinds go to waste, so I made some pickled watermelon rinds. Then I remembered the frozen peaches and strawberries that I had in my deep freezer so I canned some peach pie filling and strawberry freezer jam.

I just love seeing my pantry fill up with cans of yummy goodness!

My cousin and I are getting together next week to put some more stuff in cans. I’d like to make some spicy salsa next, and maybe some pasta sauce.

I know by now you’re probably thinking  “I thought this post was about refashioning, not canning”, and you’d be right about that.

It’s just that I’ve been so busy in the kitchen, I neglected to do my refashion for this week. 😦

I told my 14-year-old son how bummed I was that I might have to miss my Friday post for the first week since starting the series, and he sweetly offered to do it for me! Can you believe that?

He started out with this decent green t-shirt that I so kindly bought him for 49-cents (of course).

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Boring!

There wasn’t really anything wrong with this shirt, and I thought that for 49-cents, it was a shirt that he needed to have, but once I got it home, apparently he thought otherwise.

He decided he hated this shirt so much he just had to cut it up.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Butchered shirt.

He made nice even strips by using a yard stick (he couldn’t find the ruler), and a rotary cutter.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cut it out!

Once most of the shirt was cut up, he grabbed all the pieces and stretched them out a bit.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All stretched out!

Then he took the bottom, hemmed strip and cut a couple of 4″ pieces from it, and used those pieces to tie it all together.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Tie it up!

See?

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All tied up!

So even though I was super busy in the kitchen, my sweet son saved the day so I could still bring you a “49-Cent Friday” refashion this week!

What a swell guy!

And I got a cool gift out of the deal too!

Now I’m glad he wasn’t too keen on the t-shirt!

I think it works much better as a scarf/necklace.

Don’t you?

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

He gets his goofiness from his mama!

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See what I mean?

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Uh-oh, somebody wanted to get some attention, so he decided to photo-bomb us.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Photo bombed!

I can also wear it this way, and it looks more like a scarf than a necklace.

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

 

Which way do you like it better? Scarf or necklace?

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Here are some more quick and easy, no-sew scarf refashions I’ve spotted lately…

http://chicenvelopements.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/no-sew-infinity-scarf-dress-for-change-day-one/

http://www.redflycreations.com/2012/04/spiral-t-shirt-scarf.html

http://sieglindaunplugged.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/no-sew-scarf-1st-attempt/

http://thecraftgroupplus.blogspot.com/2011/07/no-sew-scarf-to-make.html

https://diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/49-cent-friday-t-shirt-to-fringe-scarf-refashion/

Do you have any quick, no-sew refashions you’d like to share?

If so, feel free to link them up here, or on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook page!

Have a terrific weekend!

~Jen

18 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Easy No-Sew T-Shirt Refashion

  1. Oh, Jen, Your post really warmed my heart!! What a great son to save the day for you and to have fun doing it! I wish we lived next door to each other. I just know we’d have fun hanging out, you see, not only do we share the love of refashioning and sewing, but I LOVE to can, too. There’s nothing like a pantry full of home canned food. So BEAUTIFUL!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Beth

  2. What a smart young man you have!! I think I like it as a scarf.

    I am so envious of you and your canning skills! I need to try it sometime!

    • You should! It’s pretty easy once you get the hang of it! I looked up recipes & directions on the Ball canning site the first time I canned stuff and learned through trial and error. It’s just so gratifying to see your stockpile of preserved food grow! 🙂

  3. oh, what a sweet son! I have two, still young though. Hope they turn out just as awesome. Good job raising that boy! That is generosity of spirit and service oriented character. and What a character, lol 🙂 love your blog!

Leave a Reply

