49-Cent Friday: Men’s Dress Shirt To Summer Top Refashion

I’ve been doing some deep cleaning and organizing lately, trying to get my house ready to sell.

While cleaning out my closet, I noticed I’m in need of some more summer tops.

Most of the shirts that were in my closetΒ had either shrunk or faded or for whatever reason I just didn’t wear them much anymore.

With the heatwave we’ve been having around here lately, I decided a cool sleeveless top was just what I needed.

I grabbed these…

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Lots of blue

These were all shirts that used to belong to my hubby before he lost weight and donated them to me.
I know that at least one of them was purchased for 49-cents a while ago.

This one was worn quite a bit. See the worn-out collar?

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This shirt was well loved.

Anywho, I got busy disassembling the shirts…

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop Chop!

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Disassembling complete!

After cutting up all of the shirts, I started piecing them back together on my dress form.

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Matching it all up like a puzzle.

Piecing everything together on the dress form helped me to trim all the pieces to just the right size.
Once they all fit together perfectly, I carefully removed the shirt and got ready to sew it all up.

I unpinned the front panel and ran a basting stitch across the top so that I could gather it up…

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Gather it up.

Once it was gathered to fit the collar panel, I sewed it together, and then sewed all the other pieces together.

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

After all the sewing was complete, I attempted to try on my new top, only to realize I made a mistake…

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oops!

In my haste, I accidentally sewed the front shut.
This mistake was remedied quickly using my trusty seam ripper and then stitching back in place (the right way).

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All fixed!

Now it’s done!
What do you think?
Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama
Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama
Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama
Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

After the near 90-degree weather we’ve had over the last few days around here, it’ll be nice to have a cooler shirt to wear.

Have a fantastic weekend!
~Jen

Men's Dress Shirt to Summer Top Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Similar refashions for you to check out:

Secretary Dress Refashion by The Sewing Dork

Week 5: Men’s Dress Shirt Refashion by Project Run & Play

Men’s to Women’s Dress Shirt Refashion by Leafy Treetop Spot

39 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Men’s Dress Shirt To Summer Top Refashion

    • I thought about that as I was making it, but I decided this time it needed to be a shirt as I’m in desperate need of new shirts and I’m starting to get a nice little stash of dresses. I will probably make a dress out of the huge pile of leftovers though! πŸ˜‰

  1. This is adorable! The men’s dress shirt has been remade a lot of times, but I think you put some new twists to it! I love the different pieces and especially the gathering you did at the yoke! Awesome project! It looks great on you!

  2. Very creative. We just cleaned the hubbies closet because he’s lost weight and bought some new clothes. Next time I’ll be more cognitive of the editing. I like the gathering at the bodice too, adds a girly touch.

  3. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Five | Diary of a MadMama

  5. I just saved a bag of shirts and blouses I wasn’t sure what to do with. What a cute and a great inspo. I just wish I had the skills to do this. I would be willing to have someone do this with my old favorites. Any ideas out there?
    Xo

Leave a Reply

