49-Cent Friday: How To Make a Produce Bag From A Shirt

Hey everyone!

I found this awesome shirt a while ago from Mel Trotter (my favorite local thrift store) for a mere 49-cents (of course).

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Awkward

As you can see, this thing is odd-fitting and just all around odd.

Don’t get me wrong, I clearly saw potential in it or I wouldn’t have bought it in the first place.

I loved the bright colors and the fruit is kinda fun and funky.

The thing is, I’m really not into wearing my fruit.

Plus it’s too wide, and too short on me, and that’ll never do.

When I saw this shirt I immediately pictured it as a bag filled with produce from the farmers market!

I mean, what a fun little produce bag, right?

The first thing that had to happen was removing those sleeves…

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

Once those pesky sleeves were out of the way, I turned the shirt inside out and sewed the bottom together…

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

After turning it right-side-out, it was done!
(That was easy!)

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Fruity

This thing could hold a ton of produce! Β I mean, look at all that room. Β Woohoo!

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

“An apple a day…”

Oh and did I mention…check out the sparkles…

How To Make A Produce Bag From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Sparkly!

This refashion was very quick and easy.

Heck, you could even make it a no-sew refashion likeΒ this Upcycled T-Shirt Grocery Bag from SavvySugar.Com

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

Produce Bag Refashioned From A Fruity Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

21 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: How To Make a Produce Bag From A Shirt

  1. What a snazzy idea… ok, I had to think of a unique word to describe lol. I love it. You did a great job! Now I want to look for something like that; but I think I have enough pending projects for now.

    • Thanks Blondie! Oh I hear ya’! I’ve been packing up and organizing the house (getting ready to move), and I found tons of pending projects from years ago! Plus my to-be-refashioned stash is embarrassingly large! I’m cut off from thrifting for a while!

  2. Beautiful! I made one a copule of hours ago from an old t-shirt. My friend immediatly loved it and now she’s coming here al my home with a dozen of old shirts…
    Thanks a lot for sharing!!!
    Irma from Italy.

    • Awesome! You’re definitely welcome! Have fun with your friend today! If you want to take before and after pictures, I’d love to see what you both have made! πŸ™‚ It’s so much more fun crafting with friends!

Leave a Reply

