49-Cent Friday Refashion: Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf

Howdy folks!

I purchased this bathrobe a year ago with a very specific refashion in mind…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Not too shabby for 49-cents, ‘eh?

Unfortunately, when the hubs saw it, he thought I had gotten it for him.
Not wanting to disappoint, I went ahead and let him believe that.
He wore it a lot at first, but lately, it’s just been collecting dust.
When I asked him if he would let me refashion it, he kindly obliged. Yay!

I decided I’d better work quickly in case he changes his mind!
To begin, I cut two big panels from the back of the bathrobe…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See?

Then, with right sides together, I matched up the two panels and sewed them in place, making one long strip…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Like so.

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

Just look at this nice long strip…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See?

Next, I folded the fabric over (width-wise), and stitched it all the way down…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Right sides together.

This created a long tube…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

No, it’s not an arm warmer!

After turning the tube right-side-out, it was starting to look pretty scarf-like…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I just love plaid, don’t you? šŸ™‚

Since both ends of the strip had a finished hem, I decided to connect the ends differently than how I did in the infinity scarf tutorial I posted back in January.

For this scarf, I simply tucked one end into the other (matching up the seams), pinned and sewed it right down…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

See what I mean?

After sewing that bad boy together, it was all done!

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Howdy!

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I can also wear it this way…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

…and this way.

This was a pretty easy refashion, and I still have quite a bit of material leftover to use on some future refashions. (I already have a couple in mind!)

On a side note: I couldn’t stop chuckling when I was editing some of the pictures for this post.
My youngest son likes to “photo-bomb” me lately when I pose for my blog pics
(apparently he doesn’t think he gets enough attention).

I thought you might get a kick out of seeing them too…

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oh dear!

Yep, we’re a goofy bunch! šŸ˜‰

I think this is my fourth (maybe fifth?) scarf post. I’m definitely a big fan of scarves (you can never have too many scarves, right?), and with Fall right around the corner, I anticipate wearing them often.

They’re a great way to accessorize your outfit and warm your neck at the same time! šŸ˜‰

How about you? Do you like to wear scarves? What is your favorite fall accessory?

Have a great weekend everybody!

~Jen

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

23 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf

  1. Great job. šŸ™‚ I *love* plaid AND scarves, so you pretty much covered some of my favorite things. šŸ™‚ Fall is still in the ‘wishful thinking’ category for me personally…I live in Texas. Right now, we are just glad that the temperatures have dropped below 100 degrees! LoL. I grew up a northern girl though, so fall (in the traditional sense) is still my favorite season!! Have a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One – Plaid! | Diary of a MadMama

  3. Hey! ha, we have a similar robe (brand new) for unexpected guests, except it’s red plaid. I might have to rethink it since we’re in a condo with no guest room LOL. Anywho, very cute. I’m in a northern climate where we really could use a scarf and winter sometimes does seem infinite šŸ˜€

    • Thanks! Both of the refashions I made out of this so far were pretty easy, but especially the scarf! A red plaid scarf would be fabulous! šŸ˜‰
      I’m getting ready to move to Northern Michigan and the winters seem longer and colder up there. Where are you from?

      • Yes! We’ll be in the Traverse City area which has tons of lakes (Lake Michigan being my favorite!) we’re having a very difficult time finding a place, however. We lived up there 4 years ago and the cost of housing has gone way up since we lived there before. And there’s not a lot on the market right now. Our current house is for sale, so with everything going on, I’m trying very hard not to be incredibly stressed out all the time! :/

      • Preaching to the choir, ha. We’ve been renting in a condo for two years, looking for our dream home. We listed and sold our house within 3 months and have been looking ever since. Good luck with your search.

Leave a Reply

