49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One – Plaid!

For this week’s refashion, I wanted to sew along with the theme for this first week of Season Two’s Refashion Runway Competition, which is plaid!

Since Season One of the Refashion Runway Competitionย has ended, I’ve really missed it, so I was super excited to hear that there would be a second season!

With the first week’s theme being plaid, I knew I could use the leftovers from my plaid bathrobe to infinity scarf refashion.

Remember?

Bathrobe To Infinity Scarf Refashion | Diary of a MadMama
Since I only used the back panels for last week’s refashion, I was still left with all of this…

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Lots of leftovers!

I decided to make an apron, because one can never have too many aprons, am I right?

First, I cut off the sleeves and what was left of the back, leaving the collar intact.

After separating what I needed to make my apron, I was left with this…

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

“Hmm, what can I make with this?” We’ll just save it for a future refashion.

After setting aside the sleeves, I folded the front opening over itself (matching right sides together), pinned and sewed…

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Like sew (get it?)

After the front was connected, I folded the apron in half (right sides together), and placed one of my existing aprons on top as a guide.
I wanted my new apron to be longer and slightly wider, so I cut around the apron, but gave myself extra width and length…

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop!

After it was cut to the shape I wanted, I folded both sides over a couple of times and pinned, and then hemmed them down nicely…

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

Now the only thing left to do was attach the ties.
Since this started out as a bathrobe, it naturally came with a belt, which worked nicely as the ties for my new apron.
I just cut the belt in half and pinned and sewed each half onto the sides of my apron. Voilรก!

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Can’t have an apron without ties!

Well, what do you think?

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty snazzy ‘eh?

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Did you see the large wooden fork in my pocket? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

I just love pockets!

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

Yum! Cookies!

So there you have it.

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

I was able to get two refashions out of this bathrobe so far, with more fabric left for a future one.
Any ideas/suggestions as to what I should do for bathrobe refashion number three?

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One - Plaid | Diary of a MadMama

21 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week One – Plaid!

  1. What a great refashion – how clever you are! I intend to re-examine my old shirt stash in lieu of a dressing gown- I reckon I could do sometghing similar..

  2. Love this! Now I want to make one, but I should probably work on my cooking skills (they’re, um, I guess you could say, lacking). Anyway, this turned out great and I’m glad you didn’t just throw away the leftovers (I feel like I throw way too much away sometimes)

    • Aww, thank you Miche! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I have the opposite problem, I save too many scraps and have such a short attention span that I tend to move on to other refashions rather than use them up, then they start cluttering up my craft room! :/
      As far as your cooking skills… with all the cooking shows out there and Pinterest, there’s hope! ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy cooking, but when I first started cooking I couldn’t even make spaghetti without messing it up! Seriously, it came out in one huge clump! (I didn’t realize at the time that you need to bring the water to a boil BEFORE adding the noodles! lol) Oh well, live and learn! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Are you going to sew along for all of the Refashion Runway challenges? (I hope so!) ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

