49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Two – Emerald!

For the second week of the Refashion Runway Competition the theme is Emerald and wouldn’t ya’ know it, I didn’t have a darn thing in that shade in my entire refash’ stash!

Well that gave me a great excuse to go thrift shopping! And lucky me, I actually found something great that fit the theme!

Here it is…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whoa!

The color was right, but the blazer was HUGE!
Let’s just say, it wasn’t going to stay that size for long.

First I removed the sleeves, which made it easier to take it in from the sides.

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Bye bye sleeves.

Then I got rid of those pesky shoulder pads…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

buh-bye shoulder pads!

Once those were gone, I trimmed off the bottom of the blazer, just above the pockets…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

deconstructed

I’ll save the bottom strip for later…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Don’t worry, I have plans for this strip.

I trimmed off some of the excess material from the sides, and then took it in and pinned it in place…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Taking it in from the sides.

Then I added some darts to the top of the shoulders to make it fit better…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Adding a dart

Once everything was pinned in place, I stitched it all together…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

Next, I needed to skinnify those sleeves (quite a bit)…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

fitting the sleeves

After I tried on and pinned the sleeve to the right size, I used it as a guide to match up the other sleeve…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Perfectly fitted sleeves

After stitching them in place, and trimming off the excess material, I attached them back onto the blazer like so…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Attaching the sleeves

…and then sewed both of the sleeves in place.

I decided to use the button from the strip I cut off earlier.

I pinned it in place on the blazer right where I wanted it to go, and then I made a mark on the other side where the new buttonhole would need to be added.

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

perfect placement

Now, I’m not normally one who particularly likes to read and follow the directions (apparently I don’t fit the stereotype), but since I’ve never made a buttonhole with my machine before, I decided to read the directions to make sure I do it properly…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Reading the directions!

Using a piece of chalk, I marked the length the buttonhole would need to be where i wanted it added to the blazer…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chalk works great.

After attaching the buttonhole foot, I sewed on the buttonhole. To my surprise, it was a lot easier than I had imagined. Yay! πŸ™‚

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

adding the buttonhole

Perfect eh?

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yay!

I needed to open up the button hole using my nifty little seam ripper…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Cut open that buttonhole!

Now that I had a buttonhole, I needed to sew on the button…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Sew on that button!

I know that one of the themes for Season Two of the Refashion Runway is “Peplum,” but I just couldn’t resist adding one onto this refashion as well because
I knew that the strip I cut off the bottom of the blazer earlier would work perfectly for a peplum.
I trimmed the strip a little narrower, just under the pockets, and then attached it to the blazer, making pleats to gather it all around.

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned on peplum

After the peplum was evenly attached, I sewed it all together.

Almost finished!

I just wanted to add some finishing touches first.

Just like in my Ugly Coat Refashion, I thought the sleeves would look more feminine with some ruffly cuffs.

In order to make them, I used some of the scrap that was trimmed off of the peplum, hemmed one side, then pinned and pleated the strip all the way around each cuff…

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Ruffled cuffs

Now it’s done! πŸ™‚

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I love this dark shade of green, and the fit of this blazer!

Plus…paired with some red skinny jeans and a wide red belt this could be a great Christmas outfit! πŸ˜‰ Woot!

Have you done any blazer refashions lately? If so I’d love for you to link them up here or on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page.

Have a great weekend everyone! πŸ™‚

~Jen

Emerald Blazer Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

36 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Two – Emerald!

  1. I have dress form envy! Your button hole is beautiful. One cutting tip you probably already know. I make a little hole with the seam ripper on one end of the button hole then cut from the opposite end. That creates a little space that helps to prevent over cutting the hole.

    • Thanks Jennifer! πŸ™‚
      My daughter and I got to go on a very rare mother-daughter shopping day, so we thought it’d be a good idea to get mani/pedi’s! πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much for the sweet compliment!
      Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Refashion Runway: Emerald Sew Alongs | The Renegade Seamstress

  3. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

