49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Three – Peplum!

For this third week of Season Two’s Refashion Runway Competition, the theme is peplum and I had the perfect thing to use…

Purple Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oh dear!

Um, yeah.

So this thing is a bit large, but I really like love the fabric. I love the floral print and the fact that this fabric doesn’t wrinkle. (Did I mention how much I hate ironing?)

I decided to make a mullet shirt with an added peplum.

To accomplish this, I used the same technique as I did in my high-low dress refashion.

First, I folded the shirt in half, matching up the side seams.

Then, starting at the front (middle of the shirt), I made a cut and right before getting to the side seams, I started angling the cut downward toward the middle of the back of the shirt, making sure to end the cut at about 7 inches from the bottom of the back.

(Sorry, the picture that was taken after this was cut out vanished.) 😦

Purple Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Mullet shirt, here we come…

Once my blouse was transformed into a mullet top, I trimmed the bottom of the shirt into even strips…

Purple Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Nearly identical.

Since the back of the shirt is slightly wider than the front, the front panel is smaller than the back.
No worries though! I wanted a one-piece peplum, so I sewed the two strips together…

Purple Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

Next, I attached the peplum to the shirt, making sure to match right sides together…

Purple Peplum Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Right sides together.

After that was sewn on, I was done!

Purple Peplum Mullet Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty cool huh?

And it matches my purple skinny jeans perfectly! Woot!

I’ve been having so much fun following and sewing along with this season of the Refashion Runway Competition! I’m just blown away by all of the amazing talent and I hope you all tune in and vote for your favorite each week!

Have a great weekend! 🙂
~Jen

Purple Peplum Mullet Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

28 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Three – Peplum!

  1. Very nice! I love the print too.
    I had to look up what peplum was, because it’s not a word I knew, except in France where it’s used to characterise films like Gladiator or Troy!

    • Ha! That’s funny! I didn’t know what it was either until the beginning of this year, so don’t feel bad! 😉 I’ve never heard it used the other way though. Very interesting! 😉

      • We have so much going on right now that if I didn’t laugh, I’d lose it! We are trying to sell our house and find a place to rent up north where my husband’s new job is, but it’s been very difficult. This has probably been the most stressful time of my entire life! My husband is away at work during the week and we’ve only seen him on the weekends since April. So I’m basically a single mom during the week. Finding the humor in day-to-day life helps me keep my sanity! It’s also very helpful having all of the encouragement from all of my blogging friends, so thank you! 🙂

      • Wow, that does sound stressful. Moving, selling, hubby away during the week. That would weigh heavily on anyone, yet you find time to shop, sew and blog about it. Well done, well done.

        You are a wise woman finding humour in your days. That will serve you well for a lifetime.

        I hope things ease up soon.

  2. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

