49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Four – Leather!

Monday was my beautiful daughter’s 10th birthday!

She is growing up so fast, I can hardly believe it’s been 10 years since she first blessed us with her presence!

In honor of her birthday, I decided to fix my failed refashion from last week by making something awesome for my daughter.

Last Friday I tried (in vain) to refashion a too-tight pair of leather pants into a (or what was supposed to have been) pencil skirt.

Unfortunately, this is what it looked like when I realized I was in way over my head and decided to give up (or at least take a break for a while)…

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yikes!

Yeah, that ended up nothing like I had envisioned!
After taking several days off, I decided to go an easier route.
I started with this long-sleeved gray t-shirt that had shrunk and was now too tight for me.

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Shrunken shirt

Too tight for me, but just right for my daughter.

I wanted to add some leather shoulder patches to the shirt (using scraps from my leather pants).

So as not to waste any leather, I decided I needed to make a pattern first, so I grabbed a page of expired coupons I never got Β the chance to use, and used that to cut out a pattern.

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Waste not, want not!

After getting the pattern just right, I cut out two patches of leather…

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Patch one and patch two

Using double-sided tape, I positioned the patches onto the shoulders of the shirt (so they wouldn’t move around on me), and then stitched them in place…

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Stitchin’ on the patches.

I only sewed three sides of the patches, leaving the edge where the sleeve met the shoulder unsewn to keep it from bunching up.

Before this refashion could be complete, I decided it needed a pocket, so I cut out another piece of leather for the pocket, and stitched that in place too.

Then it was all done!

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Such a cutie!

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

I think she likes it!

After my first attempt at sewing with leather went so poorly, I’m glad this refashion went well!
And besides the skirt that I still need to figure out what to do with, look at the rest of the leftovers I have…

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Leather leftovers!

I can’t wait for you to see what I have in store for them!

Have you ever sewed with leather before? I’d love to see what you’ve done!
Feel free to share here or on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page!

Have a fantastic week!
~Jen

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Leather Shoulder Patch Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

25 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Four – Leather!

  1. Great job! This turned out really cute, just like your little girl! πŸ™‚ I’m excited to see what else you do with your scraps, I still have some left over from my own refashion.

  2. Happy birthday. Ten is a magical. Two digits! She reminds me of my son during his gymnastics days. He loved being upside down.

    I have to say that showing your mistakes and how you fixed it inspires me to do more of that. It’s how we learn. I’ve shared more of my garden boo-boos this year. Its a great record to for what works and what doesn’t it. Thanks for that. You also make me laugh, so it’s fun logging on each day.

    As for those leather jeans: yikes. I can’t imagine those fit a soul. Ever!

    • Aww, thank you!
      My daughter would love to do gymnastics, but dance takes up enough of her time (and our money! lol) for the moment.
      I don’t mind showing my mistakes on here, because there are so many people who have been able to give me advice/suggestions on how to fix them, and I’ve learned a lot through all of the amazing sewists who know more than me!
      Thanks for your sweet comments! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

    • Thanks Jo! πŸ™‚
      She has practiced doing freezes for over a year (for her dance class) and is among the top 5 in her class for them! I attempted to try to do one and almost broke my neck! lol I won’t be doing that again! πŸ˜‰

  3. Way to go! My first attempt sewing leather was a miserable failure, and I haven’t been able to talk myself into trying again. You’re a brave one! πŸ˜‰

    – Elizabeth
    aka The Hungry Octopus

    • Thanks Elizabeth! I was pretty frustrated when my skirt turned out nothing like I had imagined. (I’m actually still a bit perturbed about it!) I’ve decided to do several smaller (and easier) projects instead! πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday Refashion: Leather Owl Purse | Diary of a MadMama

  5. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Eleven | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

