49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Five – Halloween!

Happy Friday ya’all!

Can you believe there’s less than a week until Halloween? Yikes!

Unfortunately, my kids won’t be able to go trick-or-treating this year, because my daughter has dance class.

She does, however, get to dress up for her class, as long as her costume doesn’t hinder her from dancing.

We chose this costume that I scored for 49-cents several years ago from Mel Trotter (that she had since outgrown)…

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, this will do!

I knew that for the refashion I had in mind, I would need to measure a piece of elastic to fit my daughter’s waist.

I found a piece of elastic that I had saved from a previous refashion and to my surprise…

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

It fits!

…it fit perfectly!
I just love it when that happens!
Since the elastic was already the perfect size, I just needed to sew it together.

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Stitching elastic together

Now I just needed to make some alterations to that too-small leotard…

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Choppage complete!

I trimmed about the same width above the tutu part of the leotard as the width of the elastic I was planning on attaching to it (plus about 1/2″ extra to fold over the elastic).

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Making a waistband for that tutu!

See?
After I pinned the elastic to the inside of the leotard, I ran it through my machine…

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrrr

That was a pretty easy refashion ‘eh?

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All done!

Well, almost all done!
I needed to get her hair and makeup finished first…

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Eeek!

That’s right… my sweet, beautiful little girl wanted to dress up as a scary zombie for Halloween! And since she had to go to dance class, we decided a zombie dancer would be the perfect thing.
Although, I think I may have done too good of a job on her makeup… when she walked by the window and caught her reflection, she screamed before realizing it was herself she was freaked out by. Ha!
Maybe when I do her makeup for class I might need to tone it down a bit so she doesn’t scare all the girls in her class. :/

What are your plans for Halloween?
Have any of you refashioned any awesome Halloween costumes lately?
If so, please share them with me, I’d LOVE to see what you’ve done!

Here are some pretty snazzy Halloween refashions I’ve spotted on Pinterest lately…

Thrive: Halloween Refashion: The Candy Corn Ruffle Skirt

Thrive: Halloween Refashion: The Candy Corn Ruffle Skirt

Twin Dragonfly Designs: Scrappy Unicorn Costume

Twin Dragonfly Designs: Scrappy Unicorn Costume

The Train To Crazy: DIY Baby Dinosaur Costume

The Train To Crazy: DIY Baby Dinosaur Costume

Aren’t they just the cutest things ever?

Also, don’t forget to hop on over to the Refashion Runway Competition and vote for your favorite Halloween refashions. This week was my favorite by far! These ladies are fierce!

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Zombie Ballerina Halloween Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This is seriously going to give me nightmares!

16 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashion Runway Sew Along: Week Five – Halloween!

  1. That’s pretty funny that she scared herself, but I’ve done that before, too. Not in makeup. Eek. The girls are going to be ladybugs. That is, if I can get the youngest to cooperate. Otherwise she may just go as herself. (AKA Crankypants) 🙂

    • Thanks Desarae! I’ve done that before too, but not with makeup on. The neighbor lady had just told me about a peeping tom that used to live in the neighborhood (right after we moved in) and I was standing in the kitchen at night doing the dishes. We didn’t have curtains up on that window, and when I looked up and saw myself, I screamed and ran into the other room. Right as I was running into my husband (who was thoroughly freaked out), I realized it was my own reflection! Ha!

      • Oh, that made me laugh!! I can totally understand doing that though! Thanks for sharing your funny story. 🙂

        Btw, I have a question: how do you make your awesome GIFs? Do you use Photoshop?

      • Thanks Desarae!
        The GIF’s are super easy!
        You just go to http://gickr.com/ (I found this site via Beth), and it has you upload whatever pics you want to use (up to 10) and then has you pic the speed and when it’s all done, you just download the file to your computer so you can use it on your blog or wherever you want to use it! 😉

      • Awesome, thanks so much for sharing the link! You have inspired me to try and make one of my own. There were a series of pics from my costume refashion that absolutely NEED to be GIFs. 🙂

  2. Pingback: {DIY} Refashioned Toddler Fox Costume | All Glorious

  3. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Refashioned Witch Costume For Your American Girl Doll! | Diary of a MadMama

  4. Pingback: Nuestro disfraz de carnaval | días de 48 horas

Leave a Reply

