49-Cent Friday: Refashioned Witch Costume For Your American Girl Doll!

Happy Friday everyone!

For this week’s 49-cent Friday refashion, I wanted to show you the Halloween costume I refashioned for my daughter’s American Girl doll.

First, we started with these two articles of clothing…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Very Halloweeney (is that a word?)

I was lucky enough to find each of these items for 49-cents several months ago.
I really liked the skirt for my daughter, but it had some issues.
The main issue was the fact that it was too big!

I could’ve just taken it in to fit her, but I had forgotten that she actually had a very similar skirt already (which fit her just fine).
The other issue the skirt had was this…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

frayed lace

Yep, this skirt was in definite need of a good upcycling!
The shirt, however, didn’t really have any issues (other than the fact it never got any wear).

To start this refashion, I trimmed off the waistband from the skirt.
The elastic was in perfect condition, so I made sure to save it (for a future refashion).

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

We’ll save this waistband for a later date.

The next thing I did was deconstruct that shirt…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Deconstructed shirt

I wanted to make a bodice and sleeves out of the orange shirt. To do this, I took a top from my daughter’s doll and used it to draft a pattern…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Drafting a pattern

Once I had my pattern perfected, I used it to cut out the pieces I would need from the shirt…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Not much fabric needed.

I placed the pattern piece for the front of the bodice onto the shirt, matching up the “fold” onto the seam of the shirt, this will save me some time, because that seam is already sewn. (Did that make sense?)

I didn’t write out Β a pattern for the sleeves, instead I just very carefully matched up some existing long sleeves from a different doll top.

Using one sleeve from the orange shirt, I cut it in half and then trimmed both halves down to match the size of the sleeves from the doll shirt I was using as my guide.

Here are all the pieces, cut, pinned and ready to be sewn together.

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

It’s taking shape!

Now on to the sewing machine we go…

First I stitched the sleeves…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Stitch those sleeves!

Then I stitched the bodice and attached the sleeves to the bodice…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

sewing the bodice

I didn’t want to cut down the skirt. I wanted it to be big and billowy, so rather than waste any of the material, I ran a basting stitch all around the waist and then gathered it up quite a bit, and sewed it onto the bodice…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

It’s coming together folks!

Then I hemmed the neckline and back flaps…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Hem that neckline

Since I had left the back of the bodice open, I needed to stitch on some velcro to fasten the back of the dress.

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Adding velcro using a zigzag stitch.

Once all that was complete, I measured a small piece of elastic around the dolls waist and sewed that onto the inside waist of the dress.

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

elastic added

Once the elastic was sewn on, I thought I was done, but then I realized there was still that problem with the frayed lace.
Although it did give the dress a “witchy” look, I didn’t want it to fray anymore and ruin the dress (after all my hard work), so I decided to hem each of the ruffles.
I did kind of a “rolled hem”…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Hemming the lace

My daughter picked out some ribbon that she wanted me to add to the dress, so I measured it around the waist (leaving extra for a bow in the back), and tacked it down all the way around…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Back…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

front, tacked in place

Now we aren’t done yet. In case you haven’t guessed it yet, this is a witch costume, and what’s a witch without her hat?
To make the hat to finish the costume, I grabbed a piece of black felt and using this witch hat tutorial by realcoake.comΒ as a guide, I got busy cutting and stitching until…

voilΓ‘…

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Now where’s my broom?

Isn’t she cute?

Like I mentioned in last week’s Halloween refashion, we weren’t able to go trick-or-treating this year because of my daughter’s dance class.
She lucked out and got to have an impromptu pizza party, complete with candy and cupcakes during class. I think it had something to do with the fact that only she and one other girl showed up!

Afterwards we all went home and had our own little Halloween party.

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Happy Halloween!

Notice the little monster stuffed animal my 8-year-old is holding? He decided to make a super-monster costume for Mac (his monster’s name), for Halloween. He made it all by himself too!

Felt Halloween Costume For a Stuffed Animal (made by an 8 y.o.) | Diary of a MadMama

πŸ™‚

Aren’t you impressed? πŸ˜‰ Heehee.

How did you spend your Halloween?

Did it rain all day and night where you live, like it did here? :/

Have a great weekend ya’all!

~Jen

Refashioned Halloween Witch Costume for American Girl Dolls | Diary of a MadMama

Ninja | Diary of a MadMama

15 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Refashioned Witch Costume For Your American Girl Doll!

    • Well thanks Amy!
      I felt a little guilty putting in all the effort with the doll dress and not making anything for my son’s stuffed monster, but when he finished making it, he was so proud that he did it all by himself!

    • I just finished entering! Whew! That was a lot of entries, but I got them all in. Thanks for telling me about the giveaway (and for hosting it!) My daughter has definitely got her fingers (and toes) crossed in hopes she wins! πŸ˜‰

  1. Great post as usual but now I have to unsubscribe as the gifs (I think that’s the right word) induces headaches. Thanks for all the great refashions. Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

