49-Cent Friday: American Girl Doll Dress Refashion Tutorial

When I saw this cute little sweater-vest for only 49-cents at Mel Trotter (my favorite local thrift store), I knew I couldn’t pass it up.

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

What a cute little sweater-vest.

This sweater-vest is a toddler size 18 months (although it’s shrunken up to more of a 12 months), and my kids are nowhere near that small. Still, I figured I’d discover a use for it, so I went ahead and brought it home.

When my daughter saw it, she informed me that it would make an adorable sweater-dress for her American Girl doll.

What a great idea, huh?

When I tried the vest on Isabelle, it was a bit too big, so I pinned it in at the shoulder seams and at the side seams…

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

Taking it in.

Then I ran it through the sewing machine.

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

Taking in the shoulders.

Toddler Sweater Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

Taking in the sides.

After the sewing was complete, I trimmed off the excess material…

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

Chop chop.

…and tried the new frock on Isabelle…

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty snazzy ‘eh?

When I showed my daughter, she was very happy with the results!

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

She approves!

American Girl doll clothes can be pretty expensive, so at a mere 49-cents, this refashion was a steal! And easy too!

If you haven’t already, make sure to enter the GIVEAWAY I have going on right now through February 9th on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook page.

One lucky winner will get an owl phone/iPod case, a pair of mittens and an infinity scarf, all handcrafted by me.

(Here are some examples):

scarf

I will announce the winner here and on Facebook February 9th, so be sure to get your entries in.

Remember, you can enter every day through the end of the giveaway for more chances to win!

Good luck!

~Jen

Toddler Sweater-Vest to American Girl Doll Sweater-Dress Refashion (Tutorial) | Diary of a MadMama

12 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: American Girl Doll Dress Refashion Tutorial

  1. You are such a good mom! I remember being pretty obsessed with American Girl dolls and you’re right, the clothes (and the dolls for that matter) can be really, really expensive! The refashion is absolutely adorable!
    -Miche

    • Thanks Miche!
      I didn’t even know American Girl dolls existed until I had a daughter and that’s probably a good thing, because I doubt my parents would want to shell out so much money on a single doll.
      They are really cool though.
      My daughter’s reading has vastly improved because of the stories that go with each of the dolls. She’s hooked. And she has saved up birthday and other money she has earned or received to purchase 3 different AG dolls! As a child, I wasn’t very good at saving money (especially for such large purchases!)

  2. OH WOW! I can’t stop giggling at the picture where you put the dress on the doll inside out and then pinned it down to resize it. What a great idea, and a fabulous sweater dress. My town doesn’t believe in $.49 deals…so sad.

Leave a Reply

