49-Cent Friday Refashion: Turning a Shirt Into Leggings Tutorial

As you might remember from my recent Swants refashion, or my (not-so-recent) pajama pants refashion, turning shirts into pants is a lot easier than you might think.

So easy in fact, that when my daughter needed a pair of brown leggings to go with a few tunics and dresses that she has, rather than buy her a brand new pair, I decided a refashion was the way to go!

I found this long-sleeved, brown t-shirt for 49-cents at Mel Trotter and thought it would be a great top for myself.

However, when I got home and tried it on, it was WAY too tight.

So tight in fact, that I wasn’t about to show you a picture of me in it for the “before pic”
(That would just be indecent).

My daughter kindly modeled it for me instead.

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, a bit too long and baggy for her.

As you can see, it would make a great dress for her (with just a few alterations), but she needed brown leggings (for all of her other shirts and dresses) much more than she needed ANOTHER dress!

Luckily (for me) she had a pair of black leggings (that I also recently found for 49-cents) that fit her PERFECTLY!

So perfectly in fact, that I knew they would make the perfect pattern.

Vera Wang Velvet Leggings Used as a Pattern in a Leggings Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Velvety

I was pretty pumped when I saw who made these velvet leggings:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

That’s right, Vera Wang! Too cool.

Anywho, I began by turning the black leggings inside out and folding them in half…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

I’ll use this as my pattern.

I wanted to use the sleeves as the bottom legs of the leggings so that I wouldn’t have to worry about finishing the cuffs…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Perfect ‘eh?

I cut the sleeves off to see how much of the legs they would cover…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Then I folded the rest of the shirt in half, and placed it over the top portion of the leggings to cut around:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Starting to take shape.

I left extra space at the waist to make room for the waistband.

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

See?

I stitched up the small leg section of the upper (shorts) portion of the leggings first:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned and ready to be stitched.

After that was all stitched together, I turned the sleeves right-side out and slid them into the shorts portion (so that the pieces would be right-sides together)…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

See what I mean?

After stitching those together, I pinned the shorts pieces in place…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned in place!

…then stitched them together:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

whirrrr

Now I needed to make a casing for an elastic waistband.
I first folded the top down about 1/2″…
Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Then I folded it over again and measured it against the width of elastic to make sure the elastic would fit through the casing:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Ahh, perfect!

Once I saw that it was the perfect size, I stitched down the casing and made an opening for the elastic to go through…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Open sesame!

After pushing the elastic through the casing, I overlapped the two ends…

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Overlapped.

…and then stitched them together:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Reinforce that elastic!

Then I stitched the opening closed:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

And voilá, all done!

Here’s a closeup:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

Now my little sweetie finally has something to wear with all of this:

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

She’s quite happy with them, and I’m happy that she’s happy!

Speaking of being happy; you have 9 more days to enter my GIVEAWAY!

You can enter here everyday now through Sunday, February 9th to maximize your chance of winning.

And don’t forget all the cool things you can win:

Giveaway | Diary of a MadMama

Have a fantastic weekend!
~Jen

Leggings Refashioned From A Shirt | Diary of a MadMama

16 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Turning a Shirt Into Leggings Tutorial

    • Thanks Joselyn. Sweatpants sound cozy. What was the problem with them? The great thing about refashioning is (for me at least), when I make a mistake I can learn from it without feeling like I wasted a bunch of money on the project, since the materials I use are so cheap.

Leave a Reply

