49-Cent Friday Refashion: How To Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

What you see here is a bulky sweater I purchased for…you guessed it…49-cents!

I didn’t quite know what I wanted to do with this sweater when I purchased it, but I liked how thick and warm it is…and the buttons are pretty cool!

What I didn’t like about it was this:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

The previous owner ignored this label and as a result, the sweater was a bit stiff and scratchy.

Since this sweater wasn’t very comfortable (or flattering), I decided to refashion it!

First, I made a cut right underneath the armpits:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Chop Chop!

To keep it from unraveling, I basted along the raw edge:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrr

Then I Β folded it over about 1/2″ and zigzag-stitched all the way around:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Once that was complete, I measured a piece of elastic around my waist and then stitched it to the edge:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Then I folded the waistband over and pinned it in place:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned in place.

Then I pinned it down all the way around like so:

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned in place!

I didn’t want the stitching to show through on the other side, so I found some matching yarn…

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

…and carefully hand-stitched the inside of the waistband down.

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Once it was hand-stitched all the way around, it was all done!
Pretty easy huh?

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

I love that it came with pockets! (Built in hand-warmers!)

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Just a friendly little reminder: THERE ARE ONLY TWO MORE DAYS TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!
Okay, sorry for screaming, I just got a bit excited!

Head on over to the Diary of a MadMama Facebook page to enter if you haven’t already (or already today).

I will be announcing the winner Sunday, so stay tuned! πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!
~Jen

How to Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

23 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: How To Turn a Bulky Sweater Into a Skirt

    • Thanks Desarae!
      I was actually expecting the waistband to be a bit bulky because the sweater is so bulky, but was surprised that it really isn’t bulky at all compared to the rest of the skirt. I mean, it doesn’t stand out and look wonky at all. And with the belt lying right underneath the waistband, I think that makes it look smoother too.
      Thanks for your comment!
      Have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

  1. What a clever idea. You look adorable in your new skirt. The pocket placement is perfect. You’ve planned this really well.

    I love sewing by hand. I find it relaxing. You have more control, too, I think.

  2. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday Refashion: Fabulous Felted Wool Slippers | Diary of a MadMama

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Thirteen | Diary of a MadMama

  4. If it is not too late, here’s an idea for the leftover cardigan…..finish cut edge from unravel and hem with velvet binding/ribbon. add thumb holes to the sleeve cuffs and taper sleeves a wee bit for a snug fit….voila cropped hooded shrug. 2) turn sleeves into legwarmers or armwarmers 3) Turn sleeves into pants for a small child/person. 3) hood & body into sleeveless vest. 4) Body into throw pillow.

  5. I know this is quite a while later but I was curious about the buttons. Do you find they come open? Did you stitch it closed so you don’t run into that problem? My friend and I just found some sweaters to turn and we love the ones with buttons but aren’t quite sure how to tackle them.

    • Hi, Chesney.
      I did not sew them closed because they do not come open on me. I could see how that could be a problem, though, depending on the sweater. The one I chose has some wool in it, so when washed, it shrank up enough that the button holes are tighter and I would probably have a hard time unbuttoning it if I tried! If that wasn’t the case and the buttons did pop open on me, I would have just sewn them permanently closed.
      Thanks for your comment and happy refashioning! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

