49-Cent Friday Refashion: Valentine’s Day Rose Clutch

Happy Valentine’s Day!

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I thought a festive refashion was in order.

Unfortunately, since I’ve been sick with the flu all this week, I didn’t plan ahead for this post, like I usually do, so a quick refashion was the only way there would end up being one.

But who says we can’t have a quick and festive refashion?

To start, I grabbed a bunch of festive-colored wool garments and scraps from my wool stash:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty festive ‘eh?

Um, in case you were wondering, yes the top I’m wearing also came from the wool pile. Not very flattering I’ll admit. But it didn’t make the cut for today’s refashion. Instead, I decided to go with this:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Very shrunken, red, wool skirt.

This skirt felted up nicely in the washer and dryer. So nicely in fact, that it wound up several sizes smaller than it was supposed to be. Oh well, I didn’t want to keep it as a skirt anyway.

I thought the deep red hue was perfect for a Valentine’s Day refash’.
At first, I didn’t really know how I wanted to transform this garment, but after examining it a bit, I noticed the zipper, and these…

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

I just love buttons!

Considering that this skirt had a built in zipper, I thought a clutch would make for a pretty easy refashion.

First I disassembled the skirt by removing the buttons, liner and waistband.

Then I separated the front of the skirt from the back and picked out the darts with my trusty seam-ripper:
Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

After quickly pressing out the wrinkles, I trimmed the skirt panel down to an 8″ x 12″ rectangle (making sure to keep the zipper in the center) like so:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

So far, so good.

Once that was trimmed down all neat and tidy, I folded it in half (right-sides together), pinned and sewed:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

whirrrr

Now I could’ve just ended the refashion here, but that would be a bit plain and boring:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Yawn!

To jazz it up I cut some circles using 2″ and 3 1/2″ circle patterns:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Cardboard scraps make great pattern pieces!

I wanted to make some roses for my clutch, and for each rose, I needed 2 small circles and 1 large one.

First, I made the rose bud by taking both of the small circles and overlapping them and then folding them in half like so:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

See?

Then, I rolled the folded circles into a little rosebud:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

What a pretty little rosebud!

To keep the bud from coming apart, I hand stitched the bottom in place:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Then I took the big circle and cut a swirl out of it like this:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

This got wrapped around the rosebud…

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

see?

…then I stitched the bottom again:

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Once I had 4 roses assembled, I hand-stitched them onto the clutch.
Oh and remember these?

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

BUTTONS!

I added these onto the clutch as well.

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

And that’s it! All done!

Pretty festive huh?
I thought so!

Now I’m off to make some Valentine’s cookies with the kiddos… but before I do, I want to show you the GIVEAWAY prizes that my friend Kyrie won.

Kyrie’s favorite colors are green, pink and purple, so I designed this pair of mittens just for her:

Felted Wool Mittens | Diary of a MadMama

The plaid fabric was leftovers from my Scrappy Skirt Refashion.

Here is the owl case…

Owl iPhone Case | Diary of a MadMama

…and of course the infinity scarf:

Infinity Scarf | Diary of a MadMama

Congratulations again Kyrie!
I sure hope you like your gifts! πŸ™‚

Have a great Valentine’s Day ya’all!

~Jen

Refashioned Rose Clutch Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

22 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Valentine’s Day Rose Clutch

    • Thanks Joselyn! They’re fun to make and a great way to use up scraps. I thought it would be fun to make a bunch of roses from scraps and make them into a Valentine’s wreath, but now that Valentine’s Day is already here and I didn’t make it yet, I guess I’ll have to aim for next year! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Alys! I’m starting to feel a little better, but now the rest of my family is starting to feel yucky. I guess it’s time for a big pot of chicken soup!

      The rosebuds were really fun to make and I love that they’re a great way to use up scraps!
      My daughter wants a purple clutch just like it and I told her rather than me just making her one, I’m going to have her help. I’ll think she’ll enjoy it even more that way!

      Have a fantastic day! πŸ™‚

      • Oh that is so often the way it goes. It’s hard to be in close quarters with our family and not get sick.

        I tried your rose bud idea with paper today. It’s one of those things that’s so simple yet elegant. I love seeing yours festooned on that clutch.

        I used paper scraps today to make cards. So much fun! It’s great using up all the little bits and scraps of paper (which I loved).

      • What a great idea! I’ve been wanting to make a rose wreath out of newspaper or sheet music. I have a ton of old newspapers in need of recycling, but no sheet music. I’ll have to keep an eye out at garage sales this summer.

      • Garage sales are a great idea. You might also find something like that on ebay or at an old bookstore. I love the idea of a wreath. You can also use old pages out of damaged books, scraps of gift wrap, old wallpaper samples. I always look at paper twice before I recycle it. I re-purpose my wall calendar each year into all sorts of things. Can’t wait to see what you do.

      • Great ideas! I love garage sales! I’m a garage-sale-aholic! πŸ™‚

        I’ll have to start looking at paper differently before recycling too. I love all of those ideas. πŸ™‚

  1. Oh, so sorry you have been sick. 😦 This is such a wonderful refashion! I absolutely love this!!! The roses and buttons really make this piece! So CUTE! How brilliant to use the zipper already in the skirt! Installing zippers still intimidates me, so this a great little cheat! πŸ™‚ That infinity scarf is beautiful as well!

Leave a Reply

