49-Cent Friday Refashion: Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf

When I saw this skirt at the thrift store I couldn’t pass it up.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

I didn’t really care for the length of this skirt on me (it’s a little too short), but when I purchased it, I didn’t plan on keeping it as-is anyway.

Check out this post if you want to know what I think of wrap skirts.

The bright colors and floral pattern really caught my eye. And I liked that there was a different pattern on the bottom of the material than what was on the top.

The moment I saw it, I knew it would make a really cool infinity scarf.
One can never have too many infinity scarves (especially if they only cost 49-cents!).

The first thing I did was take apart the Β small seam where the skirt was attached to itself…

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Busting at the seams…or seam-rippin’ at the seams. πŸ˜‰

The next thing to do was cut off the waistband:

I had previously removed the elastic from the waistband to make my daughter a pair of leggings.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Waistband be gone!

Now I had a nice big piece of material.

I measured it and wanted to cut right down the middle of the fabric.

To ensure I cut evenly, I measured all the way down the material, marking lines with a piece of chalk, like so:

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

This will make it easier to cut a straight line.

Once all my little chalk lines were drawn, I had a nice line to cut along with my scissors.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Just cut along the lines.

Once I cut down the lines, and had two pieces of fabric, I folded each one over (right-sides together), and stitched them down with my serger, creating tubes.

Now, if you don’t have a serger, you could definitely use a regular sewing machine (like I did in theΒ infinity scarf tutorial post). I wanted to use my serger though, because of the more finished stitches it creates, and because it’s my new toy and I just want to play with it. Heehee.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Fold each piece over (right-sides together).

After stitching (or serging) both pieces of fabric into tubes, I had these:

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Pretty nifty ‘eh?

I turned one of the tubes right-side out, and left the other one inside-out. I placed the right-side out tube into the inside-out tube (to ensure they would be right-sides facing), matched up the seams, and then stitched around the edges:

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

See? Right-sides facing.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrr…

And this is what we have so far:

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Sweet!

Now to attach the two ends together (to create the “infinity” part of the scarf), I stitched the other ends (right-sides together) until I had a small opening left.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr.

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

small opening

Almost done!
The only thing left to do is to hand-stitch the opening closed, using a hidden stitch.

So… what do you think?

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Wasn’t that easy?

I love that for 49-cents, I was able to:

* Use the elastic from the skirt for the waistband in a pair of leggings I sewed for my daughter.

* Use all of the material from the skirt (except for a small scrap of the waistband) to make the scarf.

*I can use the waistband scrap from the skirt to make a flower pin (similar to the one in this post).

*And I was left with a pretty pink button (forgot to photograph…sorry) to add to my stash.

Not too shabby for 49-cents ‘eh?

Do you have any no-waste refashions (or any other refashions for that matter) you can share? Share a link in the comments, or use the contact tab above to email pics or a link to me. I’d love to share your fabulous creations here!

You can also feel free to share your stuff on the Diary of a MadMama Facebook Page! I just love your company! πŸ™‚

Have an awesome week!

~Jen

Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

9 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Wrap Around Skirt to Infinity Scarf

  1. I love this tutorial – I really like the colours and patterns. I’m generally not a fan of floral skirts or tops but they look fantastic as scarves! And there is no such thing as too many infinity scarves πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

