49-Cent Friday Refashion: Fabulous Felted Wool Slippers

Ugh, I am so SICK of winter! I don’t think spring is ever going to get here!

This snow and cold stuff is really starting to get on my nerves!

I know I know, nobody likes a complainer… but nobody likes cold feet either, and that’s what I’ve had for months now!

When it’s freezing outside, I just want to lounge around the house in comfy clothes and slippers with a nice hot cup of cocoa (or a mocha) and snuggle up under a blanket.

The problem is, this winter has been so cold, I’ve worn out my slippers and my poor, cold feet have been paying the price.

I finally decided to do something about it and make myself a new, even cozier pair.

I drafted a pattern from a pair of my cousin’s slippers that she always lets me borrow when I come to visit.

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

Paper bags make great pattern pieces!

Do you remember this sweater?

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial (before pic) | Diary of a MadMama

EGADS!

Yeah, this hideous monstrosity was definitely in desperate need of a refashion.
After transforming the bottom half into a fabulous new sweater-skirt, I was left with this:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial (before pic) | Diary of a MadMama

Sweater leftover

Not wanting it to go to waste, I got busy cutting…

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial | Diary of a MadMama

I decided to make a lining for these slippers, so I found a dark pink, wool skirt that had already been partially cut into…

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Holy moly!

…and I cut out slipper pieces from the skirt too:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Slipper pieces!

Now that all the pieces were cut out, I pinned the lining pieces to the sweater pieces (right-sides together):

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned!

And now it’s time to sew!

I started with the top part of the slipper, and stitched the lining to the outer sweater layer, sewing almost all the way around:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

I made sure to not stitch it completely together, so that I would have enough space to turn it right-side out.

After turning it right-side out, I then finished stitching the opened end:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Opening.

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Closing that gap.

Once the top of the slipper was done, I stitched the sole:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Don’t forget to leave an opening.

After turning the sole right-side out, I closed up that opening too, and then pinned the sole to the rest of the slipper (right sides together)…

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Almost done!

…and stitched it all around.

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Yeehaw!

After stitching the sole to the top, I sewed the heel together:

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrr

And that’s it! Heavenly bovine, that was easy!

Now I had to try it on.

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Fits like a glove!
(Well, it fits like a slipper anyway!)

Ahhh, comfy and warm!

(Do you like how it blends into the carpet?)

After seeing how great it fit, I got busy finishing the other slipper (following all of the above steps), and when it was all done, I had a brand new pair of slippers!

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

Ahhhh, my feet thank me!

This sweater wound up being the gift that keeps on giving.

So far, I got a skirt and a pair of slippers out of it.

Not bad huh?

And I still have a lot of leftovers to figure out what to do with! Any ideas?

Have a great weekend!

~Jen

 

Felted-Wool Slippers Refashion Tutorial  | Diary of a MadMama

19 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Fabulous Felted Wool Slippers

    • Thanks Joy!

      They are so easy!

      I think when I make them again though, I’ll change my technique a little. Instead of sewing the lining pieces to the sweater pieces first and then sewing them together, I’ll sew the lining pieces to each other and the sweater pieces to each other and then sew them all together. That will hide the seams in the lining.

      It was very late when I made these (hence the cruddy pictures), I was really tired and not thinking through the best way to complete it. But, oh well, live and learn. 😉

      Have a great weekend! 🙂

  1. Fantastic! I made slippers nearly twenty five years ago. They were fun to make, but not nearly as special as these. Really well done. Another great Friday refashion.

    As for spring, I hope it arrives for you soon.

    • Thank you so much! This was my first time making slippers and I’m very happy with how they turned out! I think they would be a great gift idea too!

      As far as spring goes… the sun was out today and the weather was much warmer than it’s been in a while, so that’s a great start! 🙂

      • Hurray for spring weather!

        And yes, those slippers would make great gifts. Now that you’ve worked out the pattern and the technique, you’ll be whipping them up in no time.

  2. These are great! They look super warm, comfy AND cute! I especially like that the toes don’t tapper like elf shoes, but are nicely rounded instead. Love it. 🙂 Any idea where I could find a similar pattern so I could make some?

    • Hey thanks, Desarae!

      I like how, although I made both pair identical (no right or left pair), my feet have molded the slippers to fit my feet, so they look like a right and left pair.

      Since I drafted my own pattern from an existing pair of slippers, I’m not sure where you would be able to find the exact pattern I used. If you think you could print the above pattern picture and use it as a guide to draft your own pattern (sized to your feet), that might work. Otherwise, I found this site (after doing a quick search) that had a bunch of different free slipper patterns. Hopefully you’ll find one that works for you!

      http://www.sewingfreebies.com/slipper.html

      And if you make a pair, I’d love to see them!

      I’ve decided to use the rest of my sweater leftovers to make slippers for the rest of my family. The yarn on it is so thick and durable, that it really makes for great slippers! I’ll make the linings different though, so we’ll know who’s are who’s! 😉

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Thirteen | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

