49-Cent Friday Refashion: Cashmere Sweater Scrap Hat

For today’s refashion, I wanted to make something quick and easy because let me tell ya’, this week has been nuts!

It all started last Friday, when the transmission went out on the Hubs’ van while he was driving 3 hours home from work. Luckily Miraculously, he somehow made it all the way home, but wound up leaving me car-less Β all week. Β We were planning on moving into our new house this weekend, but now I think we’ll end up spending it looking for another vehicle instead. 😦

To get my mind off my woes, I decided to refashion something.

My daughter wanted a cashmere hat, so she sorted through my cashmere sweater stash and found these:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Can you believe I found this cashmere sweater (that she’s wearing) for 49-cents?!!?! Sooooo soft!

The first thing I did with them is cut a bunch of strips…

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Strips!

I grabbed the strip that had the finished (ribbed) edge, and measured it around my daughter’s head:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

She’s like, “Uh, mom… what are you doing?”

Once I had the bottom strip cut down to the right size, I trimmed the other strips down a bit to match and then (using my serger), I started stitching those strips together:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Wrong sides together to show the stitching.

Once I had a few strips sewn together…

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

So far so good!

… I decided to cut some random shapes, stitch those together and then attach them to the strips like so:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

This looks nothing like a hat, does it?

Now, to turn this into a hat, I folded it in half (wrong sides together) and ran it through my serger:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

Now all I had to do was stitch the top closed:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Whirrrr

All done!
(Or so I thought).
When I tried the hat on my daughter, this is what it looked like:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

YOWZA!

Hmmm, not exactly the look we were going for.
To fix the problem, I just figured out where I wanted the hat to end, and trimmed off the excess:

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Snip!

After stitching the top closed…

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

VoilΓ‘

Much better ‘eh?

She was pleased with it, and as a bonus, the scrap that I cut off of the top was the perfect fit for one of her American Girl dolls!

This refashion was a great little reprieve from my stressful week, but now, if you’ll excuse me, I must get back to my packing.

How was your week? What is a creative way you deal with stress?

Leave a comment below. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Au Revoir!
~Jen

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

Cashmere Hat Refashioned From Sweater Scraps | Diary of a MadMama

19 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday Refashion: Cashmere Sweater Scrap Hat

  1. Great job, Jen. I’m so sorry to hear about the car troubles…those are the worst. 😦 Best of luck finding a replacement and completing your packing! Music helps me when I’m stressed….you could try playing some calming instrumental music in that back as you pack.

    • Thanks Desarae!
      Music always helps! πŸ™‚
      I’m hoping for things to slow down so I have the time to post again soon! I have another 8 weeks or so of back and forth driving the 3 hours between our two houses each week, but once that’s over I hope to get on a more relaxing schedule. πŸ™‚

  2. Your daughter is adorable, and so is that hat. Well done. And good for you for taking a break from the stress of the week, the packing, the car woes, to do something fun and creative.

    I wish you the best of luck. I know once you are through the stress of the move, that life will feel so much calmer. Your husband’s commute is brutal, as is having him gone for the week. Sending hugs and light at the end of the tunnel, Jen.

    • Hi there! Absolutely! You could just stitch it right sides together and keep your stitches on the inside, or stitch it wrong sides together with a zigzag stitch (keeping it close to the edge) to show your stitches on the outside of the hat. Since this can be made using scraps, it’s great to experiment. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

