Me-Made-May ’14 – The MadMama Returns!

I can’t believe it’s been a month and a half since my last post. :/

A lot has happened over the last 45 days that has kept me from posting.

We’re still in the process of moving, and each week I spend half of my time at one house, and half at the other. With both houses being 3 hours apart, this means I’m also driving 6 hours (round trip) each week, and I feel like I’m never going to get settled. Despite, we’ll be at the new house for good at the beginning of June.

I should also mention that our daughter has dance class 3 days a week now, as she is gearing up for her upcoming recital in June.

No doubt can’t wait to finally be settled, and be able to spend more time sharing my refashions with you!

I thought a great way to get back into blogging would be to participate in this year’s Me-Made-May, hosted by Zoe from So, Zo… What do you know?

If you’re not familiar with Me-Made-May, here’s an explanation from Zoe herself:

What is MMM’14?

Me-Made-May’14 (MMM’14 for short) is a challenge designed to encourage people who sew/knit/crochet/refashion/upcycle garments for themselves to actually wear and love them. The me-made and self-stitched challenges have been taking place for over four years now and they work on both a personal and community level. The participants decide the specifics of their own challenge pledge, so that the month is appropriate and challenging for them (more on this below). A very common pledge is for a participant to aim to wear one self-stitched or refashioned garment each day for the duration of May 2014. The participants can also choose to document their challenge with daily photos (though this is in no way compulsory for taking part) and share them with other participants.

 

Here’s my pledge:

‘I, Jen (diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com) sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavor to wear at least one handmade (by me) item each day for the duration of May 2014 (or feature something made by me for somebody else).’

Since I’m currently at the house I’m in the process of moving out of, there aren’t a whole lot of outfits here made (or should I say “refashioned”) by me.

Since we are still in the process of packing and unpacking, I’ve decided to include outfits I made for my daughter. I plan on posting pictures each day of the month (maybe that will somewhat make up for the lack of posts these last 45 days?), but since only one house currently has internet, we’ll see how well I’ll be able to keep up with that goal. Perhaps a weekly recap?

I’m so excited to be a part of this challenge!

If you are participating in Me-Made-May, would you leave me a comment and let me know your plans?

~Jen

me-made-may'14

8 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’14 – The MadMama Returns!

  1. Fantastic effort! I would not be able to wear something different EVERY DAY that I remade without repeating a piece, somethings are great favourites and do get worn over and over again, like my head gear. My clothes are from Op shops and I usually don’t have to change them much at all. I will be watching with great interest, I am sure you will inspire and delight! Congratulations! Thank you for your encouragement and leadership in this important home movement which is part of the Environmental movement! Jillian

  2. Wow, thanks Jillian!
    I know that a big part of MMMay is to highlight any “holes” in your wardrobe, and I’m looking forward to using this experience to see what new items I NEED to make/refashion rather than just refashioning items I don’t necessarily need. I know that I’ve refashioned quite a few dresses in the past year, so I’m hoping that the weather here gets warmer so that I don’t freeze to death on the days I choose to wear them! 😉
    Thank you so much for your support!

  3. I haven’t made any thing for myself in a long time, we are talking at least 20years and like hadn’t posted anything for about two months, I think life hampers my ability to put ideas into action!
    But I am hoping to breath life into my sewing machine soon and although it might not be clothes I am hoping to make at least one item a week till the end of the year! So good luck with your challenge I look forward to seeing your garments! ☺

    • Thanks, Alys! I thought this would be a great way to get back to blogging. I definitely can’t wait to be able to relax a bit after the next few weeks of craziness are over! 🙂

      • At least you have an end in sight, and a better place to live with no drive. That will make it all worthwhile.

        It’s still no fun when you’re going through it.

  4. So glad you’re back – you’ve been missed! Good luck completing your move; it’s exhausting work, but exciting to settle in. Good for you for taking on the challenge. I think a weekly recap sounds like a good balance!

Leave a Reply

