Me-Made-May ’14 – Day One: Leggings

Me Made May '14|Day One |Diary of a MadMama

 

It’s day one of Me-Made-May ’14 (or MMMay’14 for short).

Since my children and I are living out of a suitcase on this first day of the challenge, the ONLY handmade article of clothing we happened to have with us was a pair of leggings I made for my daughter, but I’m super excited to share them with you!

I recently was invited to become a pattern tester for Serger Pepper.

I thought that being a pattern tester would be a great challenge for me, as I have become accustomed to sewing projects that require no pattern, and I also loved that I could try the patterns out for FREE before they were available to the public.

The first (and so far only) pattern that I tested for Irene was the girls leggings. What I love about this pattern is that it is high waisted and fits like comfy yoga pants, but still has the snugness of leggings. The pattern comes with an optional cuff, which I didn’t use because they were long enough for my daughter without them (but if she had wanted the legs to have a slouchier fit, I would’ve used them).

I actually made two pair, a light teal and a light pink, however we only had the teal pair with us to photograph today.

I have a large cupboard full of material that I’ve had longer than most of my children! A lot of that material was handed down to me from my mother, and some might even be older than me! So I was fortunate to be able to use some of that material on these leggings. The knit that I used was just enough for both pair, with just enough left over that I might try to use it to make a matching pair of leggings for my daughter’s American Girl Dolls.

These leggings are so comfortable, and they work well for my daughter to wear to dance class. She’s also used them under skirts and dresses, and they are comfortable enough to wear to bed as pajama pants.

If you’re interested in purchasing the pattern, it’s available at Craftsy.

 

~Jen

 

 

me-made-may'14

5 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’14 – Day One: Leggings

  1. Hey, Jen! Long time no see, I’ve been away from blogging (both writing AND reading other blogs) and I’m just now getting reconnected! I’m gonna work my way through all the posts I missed. 🙂 Congratulations on being a pattern tester! That sounds like fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

