Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars – Week Three: Buttons Challenge

It’s button week!

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

As you can see I have a decent stash of buttons.

For this week’s Refashion Runway challenge, I wanted to make an entire outfit that fit the button theme.

To start out, I grabbed a plain black t-shirt, an image I found online, some iron-on adhesive, and a plethora of buttons.

I traced the Eiffel Tower image onto a piece of  iron-on adhesive, and then ironed it onto the front of my shirt.

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

This gave me a visual allowing me to sew the buttons on the correct place.

After spending quite a few hours sewing, this is what I had…

button shirt after_Fotor

I thought since the Eiffel Tower is known for being a romantic place, what better way to embellish this outfit than a big pouffy tulle skirt?

Tulle is kinda see-through, so I knew I’d need a lining. I had this black slip that I never wear (most of my dresses don’t require slips), so I figured it would be the perfect thing to use underneath.

I wanted to make a circle skirt, which I’ve never done before. To figure out how, I found a circle skirt tutorial on Pinterest. Following the directions from the tutorial, I cut out 6 layers of tulle, and attached them to the slip. I didn’t like the way the black slip looked under the white tulle, however, so I found this curtain:

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

Once again using the circle skirt directions, I cut out another layer using my sheer curtain, and layered that between the tulle and the slip layers. Then I found some elastic which I sewed into a waistband and sewed all the layers to the waistband.

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

After trying on the skirt with the shirt, I didn’t like the contrast of the bright white waistband against the black of the t-shirt. To remedy this, I thought about sewing black buttons all over the white elastic, but instead decided to make a button belt to cover it up.

Using a piece of black leather from a previous refashion, I added some enclosures and spent several hours sewing on a bunch of black buttons.

I loved the way it turned out, but forgot to take an after picture of the belt by itself, so just keep scrolling to see how it looks.

I found these cute shoes at Goodwill recently for $2.25, but they needed some jazzing up.

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

Since they were made of a soft canvassy material, I decided to sew some buttons onto the bow parts of the shoes.

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

Of course I needed a purse to go with my new outfit, so I grabbed a burlap table runner my friend gave me, cut the ruffled ends off and sewed the pieces together to create a purse.

I wanted to add a bunch of flowers to my purse, so I grabbed some black and white cashmere sweater pieces and cut a bunch of strips out of them. I sewed basting stitches along the sides of each strip and gathered them up to form flowers, then attached them to the purse, using ivory and black buttons.

After adding a pair of handles, my purse was complete!

And now my outfit was complete.

Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMamaRefashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMamaRefashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMamaRefashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMamaRefashion Runway Season Four: All Stars - Week Three: Buttons | Diary of a MadMama

This was a fun challenge and I’m already looking forward to next week’s tunic theme.

Visit The Renegade Seamstress to check out all of the other awesome button-themed refashions in this week’s competition, and to vote for your favorite.
Have a great weekend!
~Jen

17 thoughts on “Refashion Runway Season Four: All Stars – Week Three: Buttons Challenge

  1. This is great Jen! So whimsical. This challenge (in my opinion) would’ve been the toughest. Buttons (when used in mass quantity) can be so arduous and time consuming to sew. You made it look easy. I especially love the shoes 🙂

    • Thank you! The button sewing was relaxing but very time-consuming indeed! I haven’t gotten much sleep since this competition started, but I’m having so much fun, it doesn’t really bother me! 😉

  2. It looks absolutely fantastic on you!

    I don’t know if I’d had so much patience to sew all those buttons, so well done, like the “Accidental Seamstress said”.

    Bye for now.

Leave a comment