49-Cent Friday: Purple Dress Refashion

For this week’s 49-cent refashion, I started out with this awesome purple dress (that actually ended up costing less than 49-cents).

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

It has possibility!

Getting this dress for 49-cents was already a heck of a deal, but for less than that? I didn’t think it was possible.

Well, Mel Trotter (the thrift store I frequent the most often), not only has 49-cent sales on Mondays, but they also do punch cards!

Every time I spend at least $10.00 at their store, I get a punch on my card. When the card is full of punches, I can use it as a $10.00-off coupon!

This past Monday, I not only had a fully-punched card, but I found 30 items (at 50-cents each), to use the coupon on.

I got a cart-load of clothing, that normally would’ve cost $15.00. But after my coupon, I got them all for $5.00 (roughly 17-cents each!)

For the sake of continuity, we’ll still call it a 49-cent refashion. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, back to the refashion.

I love the deep purple color and the overall look of this dress, but there were some definite things I didn’t like, for example…

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Yuck! Shoulder pads!

I got busy removing those puppies first, using my seam-ripper.

My daughter wanted to keep them for a future refashion of her own…

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Silly girl!

Another thing about the dress I wasn’t particularly fond of, was the too-tight elastic band that was stitched into the waist.

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

That elastic is really stitched in place!

It took some time to rip out all of those stitches, but I finally got the elastic removed.

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This will come in handy for a future project!

Now that the two most obvious negatives were removed, I decided to re-do the length.

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Shortening up that length!

To make sure it was cut evenly all the way across, I simply folded the cut part over the non-cut part, and used it as a guide.

A little tip I picked up from The Refashionista herself, Jillian Owens (well from her blog anyway).

Before moving on with the refashion, I really needed to give this dress a good ironing! It was quite wrinkly!

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Steamy!

Do you like the cute top I’m wearing? It was another 49-cent (er um actually 17-cent) find! πŸ™‚

Now that all the wrinkles are out, the hem needed to be pinned in place.

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

All that’s left to do is stitch!

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Stitchin’ that hem.

After trying on the dress, I realized it was a bit wider in the skirt than I preferred, so I put it on inside out, and pinned where it needed to be taken in, removed the dress and straightened up the pins a bit…

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Taking in the sides.

When I had all the pins situated just how I wanted them, I sewed the sides, trimmed off the excess fabric and this is how it turned out…

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Finally some sunshine and warm temps! πŸ™‚

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

My daughter was my photographer.

Purple Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

She kept telling me how to pose! πŸ™‚

I’m really happy with how this turned out! It’s super comfy and it’s nice to have another dress to wear, now that it looks like we’re finally going to have some spring-like weather.

If you have any ideas for future refashions you’d like to see me do, or have any of your own you’d like to share, hit me up on Facebook! I’d love to connect with you there too! πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend everyone!
~Jen

https://diaryofamadmama.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/49-cent-friday-purple-dress-refashion/

This post is linked up to…

Best tutorials on dress refashions by Eddie's Room, roued.com

Recycled Fashion

Wunderbar

FavePost PartyBadge photo blogbadge.jpg

53 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Purple Dress Refashion

  1. How cute are you!!! You look great- isnt it nerve racking posting pics of yourself though? I avoid it mostly!!! You got some fab deals too! Your daughter is beautiful!

    • Wow thank you for all the nice comments! πŸ™‚ And yes! It is nerve wracking for sure! I don’t feel like I’m very photogenic at all. My daughter on the other hand, always takes good pictures! Have a great weekend Amy! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s adorable! I actually didn’t think it was too bad when you bought it, as it’s such a great colour! But, yes, you made it look much hipper and it fits so much better.

  3. The dress looks great on you! Love that it has pockets and is purple. You were so patient removing the elastic. I would have chopped that whole section off. Haha… What’s your daughter planning on doing with the shoulder pads?

    • Thank you so much.
      I feel pretty lucky to have found this particular thrift store. Most of the other thrift stores in my area don’t do sales at all or only a few times a year also. I like feeling like I’m helping out my community by shopping there, but it’s nice to also be helped out in the process by the cheap prices! πŸ™‚ Do you go to garage sales? I’ve found that when I’ve gone garage sale shopping often, it’s a lot easier to find cheap prices on clothing. Before finding out about Mel Trotter I was pretty lucky at finding 50-cent clothing at garage sales too! πŸ™‚ Thanks for checking out my post and for your lovely comments! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

  4. The dress looks great and I love the color! I’m trying to put more purple in my wardrobe for summer. πŸ™‚

    • It’s a great color for sure! I noticed a while ago that my closet consists of mostly black (or very dark) colored clothing. It’s been my goal to try and wear more brightly colored attire, especially in the spring and summer! πŸ™‚ Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  5. That is very cute. I liked the look of the dress as it was until I saw what you did with it, and then I LOVED it! πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Refashioning a Skirt from a Dress | Upcycled Fashionista

  7. GREAT refashion! and what a bargain on the original dress!
    I would love if you came over and linked this project to my dress upcycling linky. It’s a long term linky and party of a series of posts I’m running this year about upcycling clothes item by item.
    Please do come take a look at:
    Dress upcycling linky
    Have a great week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  8. Love this dress! Such a gorgeous, rich jewel tone of purple and cute style. It is so awesome when you hit the great deals at thrift shops, isn’t it?! Our local shop has been having bag sales almost every week this summer…one time I stuffed 20 items into one bag and got it for $2…a ridiculous steal. Ahh! I love Refashionista! I had a suspicion you were a followed of hers…I can see you channeling a bit of her through your own blog…like your great funny-faced before shots and detailed process pictures. Keep it up, I love your blog. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you!
      Wow! That is a great deal for sure!
      Yes I love the refashionista! She’s the person who inspired me to start refashioning! Love love love her blog!
      Thanks for the nice compliments! πŸ™‚

  9. I am curious to find out what blog system you happsn to be working with?

    I’m experiencing some inor security issues with my latest website and I’d like too find something
    more safe. Do you have any suggestions?

  10. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  11. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s
    really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.

    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  12. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twenty-Eight | Diary of a MadMama

  13. Pingback: diaryofamadmama.w ... - DIY Kleider

Leave a comment