49-Cent Friday: Blue Plaid Dress Refashion

When I saw this dress, I instantly knew what I wanted to do with it, and it was going to be relatively quick and easy.

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Before

I’m all about quick and easy refashions lately. There’s been a lot going on and I’ve been much busier than I like. :/
Anywho…
I started by placing the dress inside out on my dress form…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Inside out!

Then pinned just one side of the dress where it would be taken in…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned!

I only pinned one side, because I figured when I took the dress off the form I could match up the sides and pin them identically on each side, like so…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Matching up the sides

The next thing to do was sew up the sides…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrrrr

After the sides were taken in, I tried the dress on before trimming (to make sure it fit properly).
Since it fit great, I trimmed off the excess material from where the sides had been taken in, and then chopped off some of the length…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

Then pinned…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pinned!

…and sewed!
I then took the extra material that I chopped off the bottom, pressed it, folded it, and sewed it to make a belt.
(Sorry but in my haste, I forgot to take pics of this part.) 😦

And here is the finished product…

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

After

And here is what it looks like after being all “accessified” (I made that word up, do you like it?) 😉

Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Accessified!

What do you think?

Here’s a little reminder of the before and after…
Plaid Dress Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

And there you have it!
Stay tuned for a non-sewing, food-related post!
I hope you like it! 😉
~Jen

This post is linked up to:
Best tutorials on dress refashions by Eddie's Room, roued.com
Recycled Fashion
Wunderbar

36 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Blue Plaid Dress Refashion

    • Thanks! I HAVE a hot pair of red sandals! I guess I like to go outside barefoot. I totally should’ve worn shoes! Ha! I didn’t even think of it until after posting this and then I realized I’m barefoot in the before and after pics. 😉

    • Wow that is so cool! My oldest son turns 14 on June 8th and my daughter has a dance recital the same day. So things are going to be busy leading up until then. I would LOVE to participate, but I don’t want to sign up if it’s going to be something that I won’t be able to commit to. Is it a weekly competition? And how much time in advance will we learn about each challenge? Also, will any of the challenges have added costs (if it involves materials we don’t already have). I just want to make sure it’s something I can commit to before I sign up, because I wouldn’t want to ruin the opportunity! Thanks for taking the time to answer my barrage of questions! And thanks so much also for inviting me! How fun! 🙂

      • Yes, it is a weekly challenge. The competitors will be given all the challenges on the first day. But we will only feature and vote on one challenge per week. The only cost to you will be determined by what you choose to refashion for that particular challenge. I hope you decide to try out! Let me know if you have any other questions.
        Beth

      • Oh good! Knowing all of the challenges up front will be super helpful! Thanks again for inviting me, I will definitely be trying out! 🙂 I can’t wait!

  1. VERY cute! You’re so talented; I wish I could sew/had the vision to do cool stuff like this with clothes! As one of the co-hosts from the My Favorite Posts Weekend SHOW OFF Party! I wanted to personally thank you for linking up with us. Also, I’m hosting a Facebook like party on my blog where you can link up and increase your Facebook likes! I’d love it if you joined in too! It’s here: http://anyonitanibbles.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/skinny-apple-cherry-ombre-smoothie.html

    • Oh cool! I was looking for a button & couldn’t find it before! Thanks! (I’ll grab it as soon as I get home tonight, not sure how to do that from my phone!) I can’t wait to meet you as we’ll! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Refashioning a Dress Into a Peasant Shirt | Upcycled Fashionista

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twenty-Nine | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a Reply

