49-Cent Friday: Dress Pants Refashion

I can’t believe it’s been a whole week since I last posted. :/

I’ve been playing catch up. We went away for Easter weekend and I’ve been trying to get the house in order this week (in case you were wondering why I was MIA).

But now I’m back and ready to share this week’s refashion with ya’. πŸ™‚

I started with this pair of GAP dress pants.

Too big pants to be refashioned | Diary of a MadMama

hmmm???

As you can see the legs are too long and baggy.

I wasn’t quite sure exactly how I wanted to refashion these, but I had gotten some inspiration from Pinterest earlier this week when I saw a pin for a cute top refashioned from a pair of dress pants via Of Dreams and Seams.

To start, I grabbed my seam ripper and picked away at the crotch seam and the insides of the legs.

Using the seam ripper on a refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Pick pick pick.

Once the seams were opened up, I tried the pants on my dress form backwards.

Trying a refashion in progress on the dress form | Diary of a MadMama

Hmm, I’m getting some ideas now.

I decided to use the pockets for the armholes since they lined up in the right place, so I started picking away at the pocket seams, once again using my seam ripper.

Refashioning Dress Pants | Diary of a MadMama

pick pick pick

Now that my arms had a place to go, I started pinning the front and back panels together…

Dress Pant Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Front

Refashioning Dress Pants | Diary of a MadMama

Back

Now I needed to sew that puppy up!

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

whirrr

Since the cuffs of the pant legs were already finished, I didn’t have to hem the bottom. πŸ™‚

I did, however, have to finish my new armholes, so I folded them over and decided to hand stitch both sides to hide the stitching. This took a lot longer than if I had simply run them through the sewing machine. In retrospect, it probably wouldn’t have looked any worse to have done it that way and it definitely would’ve saved me some time, but, oh well!

Refashioning Dress Pants | Diary of a MadMama

New arm holes! πŸ™‚

Once I finished all of the hand stitching, all I had to do was try it on!

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Holla!

This was very hard to pull on, (and waaaaaayyy too tight in the bust. Luckily I hadn’t cut off the excess material!) but once I got it on and situated, I really liked the look of it.
I knew this dress wasn’t very practical though, simply because it was so hard to get on and off (and so stinkin’ tight in the chest).
Notice in the picture how it looks like a two-piece? I didn’t like how long the length was, so I grabbed the material at my waist, and pulled up until the length was right above my knees, then I folded it over, added a belt, and that’s why it looks like a top with a skirt.

I decided to make it more wearable, I’d just go ahead and separate the top from the skirt.

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Chop!

I also desperately needed to make some more room in the bust, so I let out part of the front seam. (Forgot to take pics’, sorry.)

Then pinned and hemmed my new top…

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Easy peasy

To finish the skirt, I grabbed a big elastic waistband, and measured it around my waist, cut to the right size, and then attached it to the waist of the skirt…

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

like so

When I tried it on this time, it was much MUCH easier to put on. (And I could breathe a lot easier too!)

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

aah πŸ˜‰

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

What do you think?

I love the uniqueness of this outfit.

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

Oops! My fly’s open!

I’m glad I decided to make it a two-piece! Not only is it much easier to put on and take off now, I can also wear each piece separately! πŸ™‚

Oh and what did you think about the belt loops? I love being able to weave a scarf through there (or a necklace even)! πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend ya’all!
~Jen

Dress Pants Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

This post is featured on…

made with hugs and kisses

Made with Hugs and Kisses
Sweet Benanna & Sam

…and linked up to…
Best tutorials on dress refashions by Eddie's Room, roued.com

Wunderbar
Gingerly Made

Dragonfly Designs
Sweet Benanna & Sam

48 thoughts on “49-Cent Friday: Dress Pants Refashion

  1. That is a really neat idea. I’m not sure I’d ever be able to pull it off, but If I have a pair of pants that I dont want it would be a good learning experience.

    • Thanks! It’s a lot easier for me to experiment with all of the things I keep finding at my thrift store for .49! I figure if I completely mess it up beyond repair, the learning experience was worth more than that! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh my goodness! Can’t believe you made a two piece dress out of dress pants! I simply love your re-fashioning projects. Do you do this every Friday? If so, I can’t wait till next Friday!

    • Well thank you! I do 49-cent refashions every Friday. There’s a thrift store near me that discounts some of their clothing down to 49-cents on Mondays. I’ve found so many things there on Monday, that I decided to start posting on those specific refashions on Fridays. I do try to do other projects at least one other time per week too though. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re enjoying it! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your sweet comments! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

      • hmm? I guess I’ve never really thought about it. I like sewing things that are challenging and end up better than I imagined! That’s more rewarding. I do a lot of refashions (more than sewing from scratch) so I usually don’t know how they are going to turn out until they’re finished. I also like quick and easy sewing projects, so I guess it depends on my mood. I’m loving the Mad Men style dresses though. I might have to check out my thrift stores for some vintage dress patterns and challenge myself to make my own! πŸ™‚

      • I like your approach! Very similar to myself in fact, though I sew more from scratch than anything else. I have recently discovered a liking for refashions though so I will be looking to you for more inspiration on that front I think πŸ˜€
        You can’t beat a vintage dress, especially as spring is on its way (eventually!) You will have to post it on your blog if you choose to give it a go xxx

  3. You are TOTALLY on to something with the belt loops and the scarf accessory. Great idea! I love watching the photo transformation of the pants-to-the-top/skirt outfit. It seems the sewing gene missed me but landed in my Grandmother, my mother and my sister. I just marvel at your talent!

    • Wow thank you! I come from a family of creative sewists too and I never felt like my skills were anywhere near theirs (still don’t). It seems like the more I force myself to just jump in and figure something out, the more creative I get. lol In other words, if I can do it, anybody can! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your kind words! πŸ™‚
      ~Jen

  4. Pingback: 49-Cent Friday: Men’s Shirt Refashion | Diary of a MadMama

  5. Pingback: Sweet Treats & Swanky Stuff Link Party #9 | Sweet Benanna&Sam

  6. OMG I’m completely blown away. I was going to ask you to come over and link it to the best dress refashion tutorials page where I am gathering resources for the Refashion Coop, but I don’t want to loose sight of this idea so I am going to do it myself πŸ™‚ But please if you have other refashioned dresses and tutorials have a look at the following… (btw I invited you to pin on the board on Pinterest – hope you accept the invite)

    Thank you for sharing this refashion on the Refashion Co-op πŸ™‚
    I would be ever so grateful if you would help me build an awesome resource for dress refashions by sharing your favourite dress refashion tutorials here and your fab dress refashions here!

    xx Eddie

    Eddie’s Room on Facebook come over for some crafty ideas and conversation. πŸ™‚

    • Wow! Thank you so much! I’m glad you like it! πŸ˜‰ I absolutely will accept the Pinterest invitation and also will be sharing my refashions to your site! Thanks so much for inviting me! I’m honored! πŸ˜‰

  7. Pingback: Blogiversary and Giveaway! | Diary of a MadMama

  8. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – Day Twelve | Diary of a MadMama

Leave a comment